Son of Zen and heat... The Aleph model?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello folks. I finally decided to start saving money for a pair of Son of Zen monoblocks. In the meantime, I'd like to clear my ideas about the building details, and most important the thermal issues.

First of all, let me specifiy that the amps will be driven single-ended (I've heard that efficiency is further reduced that way... But I don't have balanced stuff at all).

Well, let's start. I'd like to build *at least* two 15W monoblocks... But I noticed that, if we exclude heatsinks (which will be the subject of this thread), for only 50 EUR more I can buy the stuff for a nice 25W version.

The problem is that I have no experience in what profiled heatsinks can handle.

I'd like to build each monoblock following the Aleph model, because I find it amazingly beautiful and it seems like the easiest way:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I can find heatsinks similar to those, in measure of about 30x30cm (12x12in.); I could use three of them for each amp, as front - left - right sides of the cabinet, such as in the Aleph, with the following components on them:

- 15W version:

- front heatsink: 35W (MOS1) + 35W (MOS2) + 9W (R7) = ~80W
- left heatsink: 75W (R1) + 75W (R3) + 9W (R5) = ~160W
- right heatsink: 75W (R2) + 75W (R4) + 9W (R6) = ~160W

- 25W version:

- front heatsink: 45W (MOS1) + 45W (MOS2) + 15W (R7) = ~105W
- left heatsink: 120W (R1) + 120W (R3) + 15W (R5) = ~255W
- right heatsink: 120W (R2) + 120W (R4) + 15W (R6) = ~225W

If I'm right in interpreting mr Pass' graphs, these would be the power ratings to dissipate on the heatsinks.

What do you guys think about my idea? Would 12x12inches panels be good to handle it, especially for the more ambitious 25W version?

Thank you very much ;)
Giacomo