Aleph 30 PS Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, this is my firt post in this forum........sorry for my bad english :(

I've assembly the chipamp psu for Aleph30. I follow the istruction on the Brian's site but the voltage out is to high then i've expected.

I attach an immage of my work.

The trasformer have two secondary 20-0-20

It's ok or i wrong something?

Thanks for the answers
Andrea

Attachments

• ps aleph.jpg
    ps aleph.jpg
    84.8 KB · Views: 741
just going to ask some questions to maybe help you. Is the transformer dual primary. Is it possible you have it wired for 115v and it is getting 230v if so that would maybe explain your output voltage.

20-0-20v after recitication should be 28v or so from 115vac
if wired for 115vac and its getting 230vac you would have 40-0 -40v after rectification 56v. this seems to be the easy answer for your problem.

I am no expert just looking at the numbers.

post better pic of the transformer and maybe someone else can confirm this

The trafo is made from my specific request.
This is the specs:
Only one primary is 230vac
Two secondary are 20vac-0-20vac

This is the PS scheme:
http://www.diyamps.com/aleph/ps.shtml

And the component
http://www.diyamps.com/aleph/docs/ps-parts-list.xls

I've measure the output voltage from V+ and GND, but if you see the scheme AC0 (with bar) and AC1 go out to the GND........why? I will attach the GND to the GND trafo?? :confused:

Sorry for my simple question but.........i'm not an electronic :(

Not being familiar with the layout of the board, it's hard for me to tell what you're measuring. However, if you're measuring between the positive rail and the negative rail, then you're seeing exactly what you should see: 2 x 28V = 56V