F5 power amplifier - Page 969 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd January 2011, 02:37 PM   #9681
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
So the audio ground is the output ground? It has to go to the star ground?

Does the input ground have to go to the star ground? Can it share the V-gnd reference on the amp PCB?
Input ground doesnt have to go to the star ground, it can go to the pcb.

Just remember to still have input/JFETground from your pcb connected to star ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 04:00 PM   #9682
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
The three grounds on Cviller PCB (last version i suppose) are directly joined on the PCB.
You can use one for input cable, another one for joining the star ground, the third one forgotten. (Speaker return being wired to the star, not to the pcb.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 04:06 PM   #9683
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
The three grounds on Cviller PCB (last version i suppose) are directly joined on the PCB.
You can use one for input cable, another one for joining the star ground, the third one forgotten. (Speaker return being wired to the star, not to the pcb.)
Thanks, I think I got it now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 07:32 PM   #9684
diyAudio Member
 
regiregi22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
Thanks, I think I got it now.
I would do it that way too
__________________
diyAudio, doing it as big as you can, JUST BECAUSE WE CAN!
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 11:41 PM   #9685
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Tinitus
I have enclosed pictures of the mule PCB
and the last version on paper at present.

Regiregi
By I don't think means that it may and it may not ground loops are a pain and are in most cases actually caused by potential difference on the grounds at times just a difference in the wire length may be enough to put a 10 ohm resistors make thing worst but this is just my opinion.
As IMO is much easier to cut one end of the screened cable.

Please don't misunderstand I was just trying to answer one question with the best I know I have also asked why the CL60 is on the ground of the caps on Papa PSU drawing but no answer so far
IMO is not there to stop the ground loop IMO

You feel free to do as you like and if it works I will follow I am always willing to learn new things that’s why we are here is it not?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture save 001.jpg (611.4 KB, 409 views)
File Type: jpg Picture save 002.jpg (594.6 KB, 392 views)
File Type: jpg Old story0001.jpg (637.0 KB, 368 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 12:03 AM   #9686
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
As mentioned Cviller boards by labjr as I understand

Srened cable may cause a ground loop
Sorry about poor drawings

so if you have 2 chanels you may have 2 ground loops

and if your phono line in sokets are not isulated you may have 4
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Loop.jpg (610.1 KB, 359 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 12:12 AM   #9687
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Regiregi I think I have a beter answer to the you think so or you know so
I have cut and paste bit from link in my post 9669.

It does mention that a small difference in potential is the cause of ground loop noise
so 10 ohm resistor make things worst in this rispect

Ground loops, earth hums, buzz and interference. Free data sheet by GB Audio Services

Why ground loop is a problem ?
Ground loops are a mystery to many people. Even college-trained electronic engineers may not know what ground loops actually are. Engineers have either concentrated on power distribution (for the electric company) or on equipment that happens to plug in to the power distribution system. Not much thought has been given to power distribution and equipment as a single entity where ground loops arise.

Ground loops are the most common cause of AC line frequency hum in sound systems. A ground loop in the power or video signal occurs when some components in the same system are receiving its power from a different ground than other components, or the ground potential between two pieces of equipment is not identical.

Ground loop is a common problem when connecting multiple audio-visual system components together, there is a good change of making a nasty ground loops. Ground loops commonly cause humming noise to audio signals and interference bars to picture. Ground loop makes the system sensitive to pick up interference from mains wiring which can lead to erratic operation of the quipments or even damages to the equipments. Audio-frequency groundloop problems are typically in the low millivolt range, so it does not have to be much interference in grounding system to cause problems in audio systems.

Remeber that there is no absolute ground. There is a certain amount of resistance to electrical current between all grounding points. This resistance can change with humidity, temperature, connected equipment and many other variables. No matter how small, the resistance can always allow an electrical voltage to exist across it. The ground wires between wall sockets and power company transformers are not perfect conductors and neither is the shield of your coaxial video cable. If they were, ground loops would not be a problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 12:19 AM   #9688
Variac is offline Variac  United States
diyAudio Editor
 
Variac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Francisco, USA
Here is a useful article on the subject:
Audio Component Grounding and Interconnection
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 12:37 AM   #9689
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Tanks Variac
Thats a good one

From it 4.1
4.1 - Grounding Rules

Here are some rules to help you plan your grounding structure. The first four rules are from what we learned about interconnecting equipment.

Rule 1: Each of the following must be connected to the system star ground by one and only one route.

All signal references


All power commons


Shields of non-galvanically isolated single-ended inputs and outputs


Safety ground and chassis. The safety ground and chassis should be thought of as a single entity.


The connection may be direct, or indirect through a star-of-stars or buss. This is expanded upon below.


The safety ground and chassis may be connected to the system star ground through a Safety Loop Breaker Circuit.


The “one and only one” part of this rule precludes ground loops. There is no excuse for a ground loop within a single component.


ONE AND ONLY ONE PRECLUDE GROUD LOOPS

I rest my case
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 08:41 AM   #9690
Mallard is offline Mallard  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Germany, Luenen
Default PS 0 R1 PSU RC-calculation

Hi,

I'm just sitting in front of my recently bought cap bank of 12 RIFA PEH 169KO5330Q (33.000uF each) and thinking about how they fit into the PS0 R1 calculation. I'm not sure about the resistor bank R1 - R8. How are they calculated? And how would it affect R9 and R10?
I tried to find a detailed explanation of the PS 0 R1 schematic but couldn't find it .

Does anybody have an idea how I can implement my caps and what happens to the resistors?

For background information, I'm going to build a 2 channel supply using 1 toroid.

Thx,
Mallard
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2