Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th December 2010, 01:06 PM   #9491
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
layout finished


Attached Images
File Type: jpg F5 layout finished.JPG (41.7 KB, 562 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 03:16 PM   #9492
anilva is offline anilva  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangalore
Default Advice on F5 with 2SK1530/2SJ201

Hi,

I am planning another F5 build but with Toshiba MOSFETs. I have found the attached schematic in one of these threads. Just wanted to check if this is the right one that I am looking at? There seem to be so many discussions on this, just wasn't sure, which one.

Cheers
Attached Images
File Type: png 2skF5.png (117.6 KB, 558 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 03:25 PM   #9493
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
IF single ended (+/-24V rail) then R11, R12 should be 0R47.
And you should replace P1, P2 with fixed resistors after trimming.

Voltage across R3, R4 more like 3V.

Schematics not proven, so build at own risk.


Patrick

.

Last edited by EUVL; 24th December 2010 at 03:28 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 03:39 PM   #9494
anilva is offline anilva  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by EUVL View Post
IF single ended (+/-24V rail) then R11, R12 should be 0R47.
And you should replace P1, P2 with fixed resistors after trimming.

Voltage across R3, R4 more like 3V.

Schematics not proven, so build at own risk.


Patrick

.
Should P1 and P2 behave any differently than a stock schematic to mandate replacement with fixed resistors? The reason I am asking is because that would be the case even in the case of IRFs isn't it? Or is it because of increased sensitivity of the Presets....with the combination of Toshiba Mosfets.

Thanks.

Merry Christmas to everyone!
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 04:20 PM   #9495
Root2 is offline Root2  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Root2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somerset
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
As many of you know, the F5 power amplifier design is done and is
merely awaiting delivery of the issue of AudioXpress which was
scheduled to be mailed April 10.

I feel that it's important to support AudioXpress, a magazine with
which I have a 35 year history, and which also serves as a
mainstay for the DIY comunity. Lately they have kindly printed
projects that I had already posted on the web, but I decided that
they deserve a little better than that.

Coincidentally, I had surgery of the 10th, and having apparently
survived, I am typing this from my bed.

Do not try to lift an XA200.5.
Hi Nelson,

Nice KISS circuit similar to a MC stage I made when I was with Magnum 1979 I dig it and put it up for you to see.

Regards

Colin Wonfor
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 04:39 PM   #9496
nar is offline nar
diyAudio Member
 
nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: near the sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by anilva View Post
Should P1 and P2 behave any differently than a stock schematic to mandate replacement with fixed resistors? The reason I am asking is because that would be the case even in the case of IRFs isn't it? Or is it because of increased sensitivity of the Presets....with the combination of Toshiba Mosfets.

Thanks.

Merry Christmas to everyone!
Fixed resistors will exhibit less thermal drift, as their PPM temp. coefficient is smaller
Just choose the right type of resistors, some Dale RN/RL/CMF type should run just fine

nAr
__________________
"... Audio needs the thinnest wire ..." Rowan McCombe ... I hear it !!!
"Just 'cause they can't hear or sense it themselves doesn't mean you can't !" Allen Wright Allen was right ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 05:19 PM   #9497
diyAudio Member
 
regiregi22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
yes - it will work ;

be sure to have some sort of (balanced , too ) volume control between DAC and amp

My DAC has already a volume control, so no worries

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
Still 25w class A power but a lot more in class AB
Are you saying that regarding my question? If so, why do you get less "class A power" when doing that way?
__________________
diyAudio, doing it as big as you can, JUST BECAUSE WE CAN!
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 11:05 PM   #9498
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Are you saying that regarding my question? If so, why do you get less "class A power" when doing that way?
The bridged F5will bring twice more output voltage but it will also leave class A when running at more than 2.6 Amps into the load.
To get full class A power, you need more output devices, more global bias, more heatsinking, different PSU.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 11:57 PM   #9499
ra7 is offline ra7  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Blog Entries: 1
Hey guys,

I'm planning to use an inductor in the supply. I know there have been several posts regarding this approach. Any ideas on what to use? Part numbers?

About 2mH, and large guage, yes?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2010, 01:36 PM   #9500
diyAudio Member
 
regiregi22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Quote:
Originally Posted by regiregi22 View Post
Well, then mine is sitting between 55 and 60: I don't really know how hot is too hot, I come from the Gainclone world
Two days ago I received a digital IR thermometer from Dealextreme, a cheap one. I've tested it against my body and I got 36, so I consider it "quite" accurate despite its price.

After 24h of F5 on, some parts of the heatsink measure as high as 67. I get .520v across the source resistors. Setting them to 0.600v seemed a bit high. I am considering getting it even lower for long term endurance.
__________________
diyAudio, doing it as big as you can, JUST BECAUSE WE CAN!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2