F5 power amplifier - Page 919 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th November 2010, 08:06 PM   #9181
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hello,
I wonder why we never see SMPS used with class A amplifier, so what about feeding each channel of a F5 amp with these SMPS units :

Connexelectronic

Is there anything that should prevent us from doing this ?
Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2010, 09:26 PM   #9182
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I don't think so. One issue is noise, but you can filter that
with a CLC circuit and some distance, and the other issue is
peak output - you must make sure the supply is rated
beyond any instantaneous peak current the load will draw.

  Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2010, 09:33 PM   #9183
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Anyone notice the ZTX 450 has the printing on the small side? Looks like the back? This is confusing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 04:10 AM   #9184
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vienna
I am ordering the transformer, thanks again for the suggestion of SUMR.

The question is: any benefit in having them encapsulated ?

D.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 04:37 AM   #9185
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikon1975 View Post
I am ordering the transformer, thanks again for the suggestion of SUMR.

The question is: any benefit in having them encapsulated ?

D.
I forget what he charges to encapsulate. It seems most people don't do it. So I'm guessing there isn't much benefit in this application. Maybe it would run hotter if encapsulated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 04:43 AM   #9186
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Also, I noticed that Antek transformers seem to output slightly lower voltage than Plitron. Don't know the reason. Just slight differences. You may want to doublecheck with Richard at Sumr to make sure you will end up with the right target voltage in your power supply.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 05:24 AM   #9187
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
I don't think so. One issue is noise, but you can filter that
with a CLC circuit and some distance, and the other issue is
peak output - you must make sure the supply is rated
beyond any instantaneous peak current the load will draw.

Thanks Nelson for your reply ; the SMPS quoted below can draw 10A, and 13A in peak, so 1/channel is needed.

http://connexelectronic.com/redirect...8o08tg4h7sguj3

I don't know how good it is regarding noise...
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 06:13 AM   #9188
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vienna
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
I forget what he charges to encapsulate. It seems most people don't do it. So I'm guessing there isn't much benefit in this application. Maybe it would run hotter if encapsulated.
It is about 35 $ to encapsulate a 300 W transformer.

I was thinking of getting two units, so I will decide later if I want to build monoblocks or stereo amp. This could change to voltage, I guess.

D.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 09:57 AM   #9189
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
Anyone notice the ZTX 450 has the printing on the small side? Looks like the back? This is confusing.
ZTX and many others are Eline.
They are supposed to have the printed details on the smaller front face.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 02:57 PM   #9190
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
ZTX and many others are Eline.
They are supposed to have the printed details on the smaller front face.
Thanks Andrew. I was a little confused with cviller's guide. I was expecting a TO-92 package.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2