F5 power amplifier - Page 817 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st June 2010, 02:55 PM   #8161
ichiban is offline ichiban  United States
space charged
diyAudio Member
 
ichiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tonawanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripmaster View Post
Thanks for that. It looks like you have a pair of Chris Wujek's heatsinks
Yes, good eye. Wish I had purchased four of these.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 03:47 PM   #8162
diyAudio Member
 
Tripmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
Most of the ever asked questions are answered in the pdf manual . From noise figures to heatsinks size. And a lot more. Reading it deeply is very informative.
Hi

Please excuse my ignorance, I am inexperienced! I have read through the manual on several occasions and just needed to clarify a couple points

Quoted from the manual

'The amplifier with 24 supply rails should be good for a 50 watt peak into 8 ohms, or about 2.5 amps.'

'The power supply of the tested amplifier is +/-24 volts and should be rated at 6 amps continuous duty, and more than 10
amps peak per channel.'


I will be driving FE167E 8ohm drivers.

Can someone please answer the following...?

What should the fuse holder, power switch, and the spade connectors attaching the ac/dc wires to and from the bridge rectifier be rated at? ~7-10 amps or am I completely missing the point?

Thanks
__________________
Richard
My photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/59839778@N04/

Last edited by Tripmaster; 21st June 2010 at 03:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 03:50 PM   #8163
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
the fuse holder and the spades and the power switch will all see the current limited supply that the CL60s have ensured.
I would expect 10A rated components to be easily capable of meeting that duty.

The secondary side is completely different.
The 230:18+18Vac transformer effectively allows 6times as much current to flow through the rectifier and smoothing caps.

For a 2.6Adc continuous loading of two channels of F5 you need a transformer >=5.2Aac to run at maximum rated power.
To run cool the transformer rating should be roughly doubled, i.e. >=10.4Aac

The rectifiers will see very high, but short term, charging currents that are considerably bigger than the 2.6Adc load. They will need to be >10A and preferably ~25A and will also need to be cooled with heatsinks.
__________________
regards Andrew T.

Last edited by AndrewT; 21st June 2010 at 03:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:07 PM   #8164
diyAudio Member
 
Tripmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
the fuse holder and the spades and the power switch will all see the current limited supply that the CL60s have ensured.
I would expect 10A rated components to be easily capable of meeting that duty.
Thanks Andrew I was having difficultly understanding the correct rated part in different areas of the amp.

Its good to know I don't need to source a new switch and fuse holder! The trouble with spade connectors is most are not rated all that high.

I have some of these... Lucar Female Connector Components Maplin

I emailed their technical dept. and the chap says they will handle around 15A @ 12VDC. I'm not sure how this translates into the voltages I will be dealing with.
__________________
Richard
My photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/59839778@N04/
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:08 PM   #8165
diyAudio Member
 
Tripmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Oops you posted another reply, I missed that one.

Airlink Transformer
Primary 230Vac
Secondary: 2 x 18v @ 13.80A
Regulation: 6%

Just noticed they rate the primary winding at 230v
__________________
Richard
My photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/59839778@N04/

Last edited by Tripmaster; 21st June 2010 at 04:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:23 PM   #8166
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
230Vac rated primary is not a problem.
They are designed to work on the full range of mains voltages from 220 to 240Vac.
The specified 230:18+18Vac tells you the turns ratio, after correcting for the 6% regulation. It looks like the ratio ~12.05:1+1

The 13.8Aac is comfortably above the 10.4Aac that I advised.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:24 PM   #8167
diyAudio Member
 
Tripmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
I currently have a pair of these and I was going to either attached them to the main heatsinks or to a separate sink, with heat transfer compound in between.

Bridge Rectifiers Components Maplin


KBPC3504 B5 400 35 280 1.2V@17.5A
__________________
Richard
My photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/59839778@N04/

Last edited by Tripmaster; 21st June 2010 at 04:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:26 PM   #8168
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
give the bridge rectifier/s their own cool heatsink. It does not need to be big to run much cooler than the 50degC or so of the mains sink/s
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:29 PM   #8169
diyAudio Member
 
Tripmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Excellent!

I'll just solder the wires to the bridge and be done with it.
__________________
Richard
My photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/59839778@N04/
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2010, 04:30 PM   #8170
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
I am using F5 amp with 2xKendeil capacitors of 68000uf plus 2x15000uf Rifa peh 169.I also have 8xBC 25v 47000uf each 4mohm esr capacitors.Is it possible to add them?Will be any problem then?I have 600va transformer and i connected 1 piece of cl60 in series to primary of transformer.
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2