Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd April 2010, 10:47 AM   #7791
hesener is offline hesener  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Munich, Germany
Hi chchyong89, is this a regular "electricians" screwdriver you are using (that is mainly used for testing line voltages)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 11:02 AM   #7792
awc is offline awc  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
When it sounds as good as this and other guys with high end gear agree, I dont care if all the component are inside out its sounds amazing.

Id like to make it dual 18v 300va I reckon it needs more VA.
how would I do that with out making it a dual Mono ?
join another 2 rectifiers + to +, - to -, another bank of Caps then ov to ov, would it Parallel lik that ?

That would give it 32 caps in total.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 11:04 AM   #7793
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Anyone ever tried F5 PCB from Jim's Audio (Hongkong)? Is it layot okay/correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 11:13 AM   #7794
awc is offline awc  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Talking Anyone ever tried F5 PCB from Jim's Audio (Hongkong)? Is it layot okay/correct?

Thats what mine is as you can always tell by the way the F5 is written on them, and once again they sound fantastic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 11:37 AM   #7795
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
^i am curious about the connection of Q1 too
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 05:13 PM   #7796
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Another question to ask...

Is it okay if the position of TH2 (4k7 Ohm) is reversed with R16 (2k2 Ohm)? Because they are in series connection, it would have the same final value right? Are there other specifics purpose on its placing?
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 01:23 PM   #7797
jackies is offline jackies  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Also, in PSU, is there a point of putting a capacitor between + and -? Provided I already have enough capacitance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 02:47 PM   #7798
diyAudio Member
 
acold7dusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
like snubbers?
__________________
Squeezebox Touch>Coax>MH Dac 25.2>Marantz PM-15S1>Seas Thor (Small)/Beyerdynamic DT770
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 03:31 PM   #7799
jackies is offline jackies  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Of course I like snubbers!

I'm asking if there's any benefit from an additional (large) capacitor that is connected between positive and negative power rail, as opposed to existing capacitors that are rail-to-ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 05:25 PM   #7800
jackies is offline jackies  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hah!
After a thorough search found a dedicated thread:
comining rail to rail and rail to ground decoupling?
Apparently the conclusion was that it's pointless, at least from a theoretical standpoint.
But in this thread a person reports that he witnessed reduced sagging:
Filter Cap Directly from Rail to Rail, excluding Center Tap
Any other experiences?

Last edited by jackies; 25th April 2010 at 05:28 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:36 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2