F5 power amplifier - Page 778 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th April 2010, 10:50 AM   #7771
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
post7766.
are the two double insulated wires coming from the transformer, the mains input?
If yes, then they should be double insulated all the way back to the mains fuse and to the IEC input socket.

Twist all the wire pairs into and out of the transformer to minimise the radiated fields.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 11:25 AM   #7772
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Click the image to open in full size.
here is my transformer lookalike

i am using two 330W E transformer, one for each + 24 and - 24 terminal. and after the crc is 25~26Vdc after measured.

u mean both the black "0" should go back to the earth?
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 11:32 AM   #7773
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
measure it with the bulb tester feeding the primary.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 11:34 AM   #7774
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Quote:
Originally Posted by awc View Post
chchyong89;
On mine the F5 ground goes to speaker negative and input negative only, CRC ground goes to chassis earth, 18 0 to 1 rectifier and the other 18 0 to other rectifier with the 2 positive outs of rectifier joined together to CRC + and same with - from rectifier, hope that makes sense.
i am using the example shown by Click the image to open in full size.

i connect both 18Vac into one rectifier, which the 0 where to go is still a question
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 12:30 PM   #7775
diyAudio Member
 
acold7dusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
on each rectifier you should have +18 and 0 going to both AC terminals
__________________
Squeezebox Touch>Coax>MH Dac 25.2>Marantz PM-15S1>Seas Thor (Small)/Beyerdynamic DT770
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 03:26 PM   #7776
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
oh my god, i connecting both 18Vac into ac =_=
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 04:00 PM   #7777
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
do not connect any rectifiers to the untested transformer.

Just measure the AC voltage at the wire ends.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 05:30 PM   #7778
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
can i ask more one question, actually is it 330watt enough for both channel?( although nelson recommend 200watt per channel)

i thinking to use only single transformer to power up this F5. i don't wish to waste my 4 pcs of same transformer.
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 01:40 AM   #7779
alazira is offline alazira  United States
diyAudio Member
 
alazira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by chchyong89 View Post
can i ask more one question, actually is it 330watt enough for both channel?( although nelson recommend 200watt per channel)

i thinking to use only single transformer to power up this F5. i don't wish to waste my 4 pcs of same transformer.
Hi,

The production F5 uses a 300VAC transformer, so your 330 will be fine. However, more is always better
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 06:43 AM   #7780
diyAudio Member
 
HaflerFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Westmont, IL
Thought you guys might like a pic of one of my (nearly) finished channels. So simple, even a caveman could build it... No doubt!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg board1done2.jpg (92.9 KB, 468 views)
File Type: jpg board1done.jpg (65.2 KB, 458 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2