F5 power amplifier - Page 766 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th April 2010, 11:39 AM   #7651
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Thumbs down Off Topic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooly View Post
Were you snowed in ?
initially snowed out but climbed the hill through 2 & 3foot drifts.
Then snowed in and clambered down the hill through upto 4feet drifts to find my abandoned car under 18inches of snow.
Took 45mins to dig it out with the help of a couple of villagers and drove into Edinburgh where I stayed until the electricity was restored 36hours later.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 11:48 AM   #7652
diyAudio Member
 
jackinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Llanddewi Brefi, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renron View Post
PS, Please disregard my messy desk
Are you using the compass to determine it's magnetic properties?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 12:26 PM   #7653
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
@Andrew - I would use appropriate safety precautions, stick a high voltage source (B+ source from a tube amplifier power transformer or following rectifier) into the middle of a blob of compound and check conductivity all around the blob, using a hot air gun to elevate the temperature, and a spot freezer to lower it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 04:29 PM   #7654
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
initially snowed out but climbed the hill through 2 & 3foot drifts.
Then snowed in and clambered down the hill through upto 4feet drifts to find my abandoned car under 18inches of snow.
Took 45mins to dig it out with the help of a couple of villagers and drove into Edinburgh where I stayed until the electricity was restored 36hours later.
LOL,
Sounds like a normal winter at Lake Tahoe.
Glad you made it out and defrosted yourself.

Jackinnj,
I used the compass to test for any magnetism in the compound, found none. However a bic pen did move the compass needle slightly. Surprised me.
I used a Fluke DMM (shown) to test for continuity, none.
Years of servicing other people's computers I have seen the pin cavity of CPUs filled with arctic silver by some well intentioned customers, they DID get hot as CPUs do, and they were still worked without shorting. (Dumb Luck? dunno) Their issues were mostly due to software operator error.

Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 04:37 PM   #7655
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangram View Post
@Andrew - I would use appropriate safety precautions, stick a high voltage source (B+ source from a tube amplifier power transformer or following rectifier) into the middle of a blob of compound and check conductivity all around the blob, using a hot air gun to elevate the temperature, and a spot freezer to lower it.
Sangram,
How is it relevant to use ~300V from B+ to determine Arctic Silvers appropriate usage as a thermal compound on a 24V rail? We are still using an appropriate insulator are we not?
Sort of like testing a 120V breaker with 240V AC.

Sorry, I just don't get it's relevancy.

Ron

I have no emotional or financial interest in Arctic Silver or it's subsidiaries.
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 04:55 PM   #7656
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Arctic Silver is NOT recommended for use on mosfets as it CAN be conductive. There are non silver based thermal grease types for these applications. Best not to take the chance.



Tony
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 05:21 PM   #7657
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman65 View Post
Arctic Silver is NOT recommended for use on mosfets as it CAN be conductive. There are non silver based thermal grease types for these applications. Best not to take the chance.



Tony
Agreed.!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 06:16 PM   #7658
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
@Renron: It said *all* operating conditions, not just those for the F5 Since most solid state devices are specified to 150V, one would probably be well-served to check failure mode at twice the rated votage.

And one operating condition could be the presence of mains voltage or close enough in the case of defective mains wiring (which in my country is 230V). I guess if you had 230V AC on the chassis and the output of a rectifier coming together through the compound and the metal tab - well...

It's not likely, but failure mode testing is failure mode testing. Obviously it is not expected under operating conditions, but the question was not about operating conditions
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 06:44 PM   #7659
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman65 View Post
Arctic Silver is NOT recommended for use on mosfets as it CAN be conductive. There are non silver based thermal grease types for these applications. Best not to take the chance.

Tony
OK, I'll bite. Where does your information come from? Both that it's not recommended for mosfets, and it can be conductive?

Remember this stuff was designed for CPUs, and we all know how hot they get! Much hotter than your hair dryer.

Playing the devil's advocate here. Not trying to start any kind of fight. I just want to know where this information is coming from, when the manufacturer says that it's not conductive. Would sure make them liable if it was conductive.

Again, not wanting to pee anyone off, but please state your source of information.


Sangram,
If you've got 230V to the mosfets.................you've got bigger problems than the type of thermal paste. LOL. I do understand your point though.

Straight rip from A/S website:

"Not Electrically Conductive:
Arctic Silver 5 was formulated to conduct heat, not electricity.
(While much safer than electrically conductive silver and copper greases, Arctic Silver 5 should be kept away from electrical traces, pins, and leads. While it is not electrically conductive, the compound is very slightly capacitive and could potentially cause problems if it bridges two close-proximity electrical paths.)

Absolute Stability:
Arctic Silver 5 will not separate, run, migrate, or bleed."

Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 06:47 PM   #7660
diyAudio Member
 
nigelwright7557's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carlisle, England
Even if it was conductive or slightly conductive it depends how mad you go with it.

I was taught that you only put on a very thin layer.
In tha tcase the top layer shouldnt touch the bottom layer.

Most insulators are bigger than the transistor anyway.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2