F5 power amplifier - Page 760 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st March 2010, 03:57 PM   #7591
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
These are "general purpose" quality.
An F5 deserves better than this. Something like high ripple, low ESR.
Quantity does not replace quality .
Which "these" are you referring to?
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:02 PM   #7592
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Those Panasonic one were speaking about.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:11 PM   #7593
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
Hi.I am selling some new Kendeils and i am going to use them for my F5 amplifier too.They are great quality made in Italy capacitors and the stock is going down day by day http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/swap-...ps-sale-2.html
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:15 PM   #7594
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
Those Panasonic one were speaking about.
Doesn't the First Watt F5 use general purpose Panasonic Capacitors?
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:18 PM   #7595
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by umut1001 View Post
Hi.I am selling some new Kendeils and i am going to use them for my F5 amplifier too.They are great quality made in Italy capacitors and the stock is going down day by day http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/swap-...ps-sale-2.html
We now return you to your regularly scheduled broadcast......

Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:27 PM   #7596
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
Doesn't the First Watt F5 use general purpose Panasonic Capacitors?
I do not think so.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:39 PM   #7597
gk7 is offline gk7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
Doesn't the First Watt F5 use general purpose Panasonic Capacitors?
They are Panasonic THSA (Datasheet says "with high ripple current capability") and they are reasonably priced:
Panasonic TSHA
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:48 PM   #7598
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
I do not think so.

It appears First Watt uses capacitors with 85c ratings. As fas as I can tell the 15,000uf/25v is only available in TS-UP and TS-UQ series which are both general purpose.

If they're good enough for First Watt, I think they're good enough for anybody here.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:52 PM   #7599
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by gk7 View Post
They are Panasonic THSA (Datasheet says "with high ripple current capability") and they are reasonably priced:
Panasonic TSHA
I'm using those TSHAs and have Zero complaints.
8 x 22,000uF 35V 105*, solid bass and highs as light and clear as a snowflake. Thanks Papa!

Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 04:59 PM   #7600
diyAudio Member
 
gervenja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Den Haag
I am using these baby's,
up and running for a few days now and I am happy with them.
Had to fix a B1 buffer for it was to loud directly connected to my cdplayer
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC03877-2.jpg (665.9 KB, 534 views)

Last edited by gervenja; 31st March 2010 at 05:00 PM. Reason: pictures
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2