F5 power amplifier - Page 759 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st March 2010, 02:15 AM   #7581
cjkpkg is offline cjkpkg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Roswell GA
Well if I redo the PSU, do I get another set of psu boards and another 300VA xformer or just replace the existing with a 600VA unit?

It would be easy to add another 22,000 uF per rail.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 02:22 AM   #7582
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjkpkg View Post
Well if I redo the PSU, do I get another set of psu boards and another 300VA xformer or just replace the existing with a 600VA unit?

It would be easy to add another 22,000 uF per rail.
Recommended 300VA per channel?

Regards,
Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 02:28 AM   #7583
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
I don't think it matters much if you do mono or stereo. Try adding the capacitors first. I just wonder if the 300VA Antek is enough transformer. Most have built the F5 with a 400VA Antek. Won't hurt to have a little extra.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 02:33 AM   #7584
diyAudio Member
 
danieljw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Send a message via MSN to danieljw
Having built one myself i have a much heavier duty power supply.

however i think the issue may be gain i find mine sounds better with a preamp of some sort in front of it.

depending on the output of your source unit.

i am listening to mine everyday at the moment

-Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 02:42 AM   #7585
Bigun is online now Bigun  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Bigun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Blog Entries: 2
Dan,

How would you compare the sound of your F5 with your Le Monstre - the F5 looks like it came from the same DNA ?
__________________
"The test of the machine is the satisfaction it gives you. There isn't any other test. If the machine produces tranquility it's right. If it disturbs you it's wrong until either the machine or your mind is changed." Robert M Pirsig.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 03:49 AM   #7586
diyAudio Member
 
danieljw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Send a message via MSN to danieljw
Hi Bigun,

The F5 has less gain, has a very low noise floor (supply/build/case affects this)
And a very natural sound. i think the F5 sounds a little more laid back than the monstre but is not dissimilar.

both are really nice

-Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 03:54 AM   #7587
diyAudio Member
 
danieljw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Send a message via MSN to danieljw
Also you are right about the DNA - i used the same case with modded supply for the F5

however i opted for a regulated supply with alot of capacitance

-Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 06:50 AM   #7588
diyAudio Member
 
pixeljedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Bag View Post
Dan,
I would personally go for the 470000uf panasonic one's on Ebay.
2pcs Panasonic Radial Capacitors 47000uf 25v 85C - eBay (item 200449742234 end time Apr-12-10 09:54:46 PDT)
I've bought other stuff from this guy before. Quick service.
I use 4x 47000uf Panasonic's in my F5. Under load, the are 22.5v on V+, at least on mine.
Thanks for the link! Just ordered 10
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 03:28 PM   #7589
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeljedi View Post
Thanks for the link! Just ordered 10
With that much capacitance don't forget the soft-start thermistors, or you'll own stock in a fuse company.

Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 03:40 PM   #7590
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
These are "general purpose" quality.
An F5 deserves better than this. Something like high ripple, low ESR.
Quantity does not replace quality .
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:38 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2