F5 power amplifier

of course.
Lets start with the case home made. It is really huge :).....

I'm a big fan of DIY chassis projects - assuming one has the tools needed. Yours appears clean and efficient - nice classic style. I might suggest some twisting and routing separation (mostly aesthetics) of the wires coming off the PS, but if you don't have any hum/distortion that's not an issue. Thanks for the pics. ;)

Last edited:
I've been reading about this amplifier for awhile and have been collecting components and knowledge on and off over the past couple of years haha. I'm an electronic novice and I plan on starting my build before the year end. I have some questions and could use a sanity check to see if I'm doing the right calculations and making the right assumptions.

I'm fairly certain I'm going to need an active preamplifier. I came to the conclusion from some of the specs posted about the amplifier, namely 25 watts output at 8ohms and 15dB of gain.

Using ohms law V² / 8 = 25 I see it will take roughly 14.14 volts for max output.

To find the input voltage required to get 14.14 volts with 15dB of gain I used the following formula:

15dB = 20 log (14.14 vout/x vin)

And see that I would need roughly 2.5 volts to drive this amp at full power. Is this correct? I am fairly certain my phonostage cannot get close to 2.5V and thus would need an active preamplifier. If this is the case, do you have any suggestions on which preamp I should build?

My second question is how do I know when this amplifier is clipping? Or more importantly, know before it's actually happening? I know tweeters can be easily damaged by it.

I have tried to answer these questions before posting, but no luck, so I apologize for asking such basic questions. Thanks!

I would need roughly 2.5 volts to drive this amp at full power. Is this correct?
You are right and it is posted many times in the various F5 Threads.