F5 power amplifier - Page 720 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2010, 07:14 PM   #7191
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member
 
bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York State USA
Oh, as far as that "hum" - often (not always) that hum comes from the transformer being current starved from the AC mains... put it on a stiff line and the hum magically goes away...

_-_-bear
__________________
_-_-bear
http://www.bearlabs.com -- Btw, I don't actually know anything, FYI -- [...2SJ74 Toshiba bogus asian parts - beware! ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 07:14 PM   #7192
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member
 
bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York State USA
single phase
__________________
_-_-bear
http://www.bearlabs.com -- Btw, I don't actually know anything, FYI -- [...2SJ74 Toshiba bogus asian parts - beware! ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 07:19 PM   #7193
sekess is offline sekess  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichiban View Post
Can anyone comment on the sonic pluses of using 240V vs 120V input to xfmr.

Hey Ichiban,
I don't know if there are any sonic benefits of not. I did it because I had some sub amps on the line and by doubling the voltage on the mains, you half the amperage. I figured that the lower the amperage the less negative inductive, etc effects there will be on the line before the transformer.
Again, I don't know if it's worth doing. But when I did it, I had relatively inefficient subs that required current. I don't have those anymore. But, I already have the 240V line in place.

Steve
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 07:20 PM   #7194
ichiban is offline ichiban  United States
space charged
diyAudio Member
 
ichiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tonawanda
Default 240v vs 120v replies

Thanks all.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 03:43 PM   #7195
jtktam is offline jtktam  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Blog Entries: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by meemee View Post
1. is there any difference sound quality if i change ztx550 to bc560 and ztx450 to bc550.
if you want PM me and I will send you ztx450/ztx550.. i have a few extras

mr. pass generosity is rubbing off on me

-joe
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 04:02 PM   #7196
jazz is offline jazz  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: leiden, physically that is...
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichiban View Post
Thanks all.
Uhm, don't want to be an *** but I just scrolled trough the last couple of pages. To an unexpecting or in experienced reader this might lead to the conclusion that it is possible to connect (or wire up) a 120v primary designed trannie to a 220v primary AC line or vica versa and expect possible sonic benefits.

As far as I know this is not the case and will most likely result in total destruction of the amp and quite likely the attached speakers as well. I would not do that.

regards,
Joris

ps I just reread the last three pages and still want to make this post. please excuse me if unneeded.

Darn, looking back i might be suggesting this would be the case for Ichiban. that was not intended
__________________
oh, what a beautifull day
I wanna go out and play!

Last edited by jazz; 25th February 2010 at 04:06 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 04:50 PM   #7197
ichiban is offline ichiban  United States
space charged
diyAudio Member
 
ichiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tonawanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz View Post
To an unexpecting or in experienced reader this might lead to the conclusion that it is possible to connect (or wire up) a 120v primary designed trannie to a 220v primary AC line or vica versa and expect possible sonic benefits.

As far as I know this is not the case and will most likely result in total destruction of the amp and quite likely the attached speakers as well. I would not do that.

regards,
Joris
Would the Antek tranny be ok to connect to 220~240vac line?
Click the image to open in full size.400VA Transformer

The 400VA toroidal transformers are commonly used in the noise sensitive equipment, high-end audio products, stepper motor supply, or servo motor supply. They are specially designed to work on all standard 115V or 230V at 50Hz or 60Hz.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 04:57 PM   #7198
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Default 230va Antek

__________________
Salas Boards 2014 #2 SHIPPED |F5TC board and power supplies available PM | Hot-Rod DCB1 boards and kits available PM |Mesmerize kits available (no boards)
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 06:00 PM   #7199
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Its a matter of the trafo having double primary, to connect either in paralel, or series

How to is clearly shown in F5 manual


Personally, having 230V mains, I will prefer trafo with single 230V primary
But most trafos fore 115V mains seem to have double primary
Dutch Amplimo sell both options
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2010, 11:48 PM   #7200
diyAudio Member
 
danieljw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Send a message via MSN to danieljw
Hi All,

Recently I had a Le Monstre amp for sale.. it sold but the frieght was too expensive to send overseas >20kgs. so i decided to try the F5 modules i purchased from Cviller in the case... adjusted the supply to +/- 20V biased the amps...

I have to say the cviller boards are really well made. and the amp was easy to set up nice and stable....

Anyhow I have been listening to it for a couple of hours so far it is a really nice sounding amp credit to Mr Pass with this one !!!

couple of pics attached

-Dan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F5.JPG (119.6 KB, 590 views)
File Type: jpg Biasing.JPG (218.8 KB, 571 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:27 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2