F5 power amplifier - Page 679 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th January 2010, 12:11 AM   #6781
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
yes i love the sound too.But want to learn that how many volts should i apply.My calculations are not as same as F5 manual.
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 01:37 AM   #6782
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by umut1001 View Post
On manual it is written that it has 15.15db gain.so when there is 1.3volts p-p in the input it outputs 40v p-p but it does not ?
No this is not correct. How did you end up with 40V p-p?
15dB is an amplification of approximately 6.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 02:30 AM   #6783
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
voltage gain is =15=10log(X) and x=32 from this equation.Am i wrong ?
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 02:32 AM   #6784
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
Pardon.Voltage gain is root square of power gain and it makes approximately 5,6 . ok i see now
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 02:35 AM   #6785
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
So F5 should need a preamp.People say they can fully drive it with their computer soundcard.how?
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 03:48 AM   #6786
sangram is online now sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
By using the +4dB setting. 4dBU ~4 V p-p, or 20V P-P with gain of 5 V/V, which is max output for F5.

It is not possible with soundcards and sources that only do consumer level 2V p-p or regular line output 0.775 VRMS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 04:28 AM   #6787
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
I apply +4db setting.Volume gets higher but not full.when i connect soundcard to my denon amp and use it's headphone out I get full power then.
__________________
My New and vintage capacitor store: http://stores.ebay.com/Paradise-of-H...dio-components
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 06:35 AM   #6788
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Are you shure that what you call "full power" is not rather full square transients?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 07:22 AM   #6789
generg is offline generg  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
generg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Near Frankfurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by umut1001 View Post
On manual it is written that it has 15.15db gain.so when there is 1.3volts p-p in the input it outputs 40v p-p but it does not ?
db is logarithmic. 10^15db/20db delivers voltage amplification of 5,6x
__________________
and the First Wtt is......a really First Class PSS Idea
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 09:50 AM   #6790
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by umut1001 View Post
On manual it is written that it has 15.15db gain.so when there is 1.3volts p-p in the input it outputs 40v p-p but it does not ?
15.15dB is equivalent to 5.72 times

1.3V @ input becomes 7.43V @ output.

1Vac becomes 5.72VAC.
The power delivered to an 8r0 load is 4.1W or about 15% of maximum power.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2