F5 power amplifier - Page 661 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th January 2010, 04:26 AM   #6601
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
The F5 has high input impedance, so you should be able to drive it with almost anything, but to you question regarding sound quality of soundcards, you would probably get more educated answers in the computer source section.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 04:28 AM   #6602
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
I tried driving F5 with my soundcard but i couldnt get good sound.It needs preamp or buffer.I will write there too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 04:34 AM   #6603
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
I have the emu 0404, probably same output stage and it drives the F5 just fine. Is your sound distorted to too low. If distorted, try to play around with all the different volume settings on your sound-card and pc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 05:12 AM   #6604
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
Quote:
Originally Posted by umut1001 View Post
Hi.My soundcard is emu1212M.I think it has several hundreds of output impedance.And i think i should use a preamp/buffer(maybeB1 buffer) to drive F5 amp.And there is another way.To buy a AUDIOTRAK Prodigy HD2 soundcard.It has headphone output and good enough to drive F5 amp.Which way is better? Is it a good technic to drive power amplifiers with headphone output of soundcards?(not to use a preamp/buffer and signal cables and I think it can be better for sound quality.because of short signal path and less components.
I use the same card myself. It is able to drive the f5 to max output if set to 4db in the i/o control panel. It works without any issues, but the amp clearly points out the entry level source. The difference between this card and the buffalo is pretty staggering.

My card is modded with black gates and opamps. Much better than stock, but easily beaten by a good dac. As long as the source is able to push about 5 volts, it should be fine. Most pro cards will do 4v no problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 01:23 PM   #6605
diyAudio Member
 
jackinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Llanddewi Brefi, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by umut1001 View Post
I tried driving F5 with my soundcard but i couldnt get good sound.It needs preamp or buffer.I will write there too.
You can tweak the gain on the F5 by increasing the value of the feedback resistors, but you have to re-bias the amplifier etc., etc. and the distortion will be different.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 01:38 PM   #6606
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
ok i will try.and one question.If i increase the gain does input and output impedance changes ? thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 03:07 PM   #6607
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangram View Post
I use the same card myself. It is able to drive the f5 to max output if set to 4db in the i/o control panel. It works without any issues, but the amp clearly points out the entry level source. The difference between this card and the buffalo is pretty staggering.

My card is modded with black gates and opamps. Much better than stock, but easily beaten by a good dac. As long as the source is able to push about 5 volts, it should be fine. Most pro cards will do 4v no problem.
In the past i did not know +4db of the card and i could not get high power from F5 amp.The soundcard was distorting.I changed njm opamps with lm4562.The specifications of card is very good and you say that a good dac can beat it.How ? I see that most dacs does not have as good specification as emu1212m.I think i will use elna silmic 2 to mod capacitors.Is it worth to do?Can you show me your mod on another topic or email me the pictures?thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 03:12 PM   #6608
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
And when i measured i saw that the leg of opamps have supply of +-12volts
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 03:13 PM   #6609
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
I use the Buffalo (version 1). The version 2 is even better, supposedly, but a little too $$$ for me.

1212m uses a CS4398 - by any standards, easily beaten by PCM179xx, Sabre and Sabre32. A friend recently compared a Essence STX (PCM1792 and stuffed with exotics) and it beat out the 1212m pretty easily.

With most amplifiers, the difference is very small but with the F5, it becomes really easy to spot which card is playing. The +4dB is set from the I/O control, not in the front mixer page - it will distort if you push the sliders to +4dB. Leave the mixer at default levels, and use the monitor control for volume. For further discussion, email me - I'll send along the pictures in a few days - will have to dismantle the entire audio rack to pull out the PC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 04:57 PM   #6610
diyAudio Member
 
umut1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
my notebooks sound card is internal Realtek HDMI Output.Is it better than emu1212m? maybe can have a better chip?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2