F5 power amplifier - Page 503 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th September 2009, 06:08 PM   #5021
ichiban is offline ichiban  United States
space charged
diyAudio Member
 
ichiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tonawanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
do they all have multi-paralleled output stages?
I know the Krells have.
The F5 is a single pair.

I've found documents from my 1986 purchase from Audio Concepts in Wisconsin. I was mistaken, that a single Strat could be driven directly.
They recommend a series resistor of 1.5 ohms with a single Strat.
Guess I'll be using the transformers.

PS sorry for the off topic

Last edited by ichiban; 27th September 2009 at 06:10 PM. Reason: ps
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 11:12 PM   #5022
smyslow is offline smyslow  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Villach
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinitus View Post
And I was thinking about 15V trafos, with raised bias

Wasnt there something with input driver stage being at the limit with the original supply

Hi tinitus,

my balanced F5 (EUVL's version, see http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showp...postcount=1216) runs with 15VAC and 1.6A bias current. But I used 2SK1530/2SJ201 instead of the original IRF types. It sounds great!

Uwe
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 11:30 PM   #5023
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tyrone Ga. U.S.A.
thanh1973, If you push the rails up to 35v what jfers are you going to use the 2sj74
is a 25v part !
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 11:57 PM   #5024
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I routinely push these parts to as high as 40V in my own
stuff. They seem to have been spec'd at lower voltage for
Gate current. If you can put up with higher Gate current,
then you'll find them actually breaking down around 42-43 V.

Not that I recommend that you build an amp on this
assumption...

And has no one mentioned cascoding these?

  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 12:26 AM   #5025
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
.....

And has no one mentioned cascoding these?

even my tongue is starting to bump , repeating that

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 12:43 AM   #5026
diyAudio Member
 
jackinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Llanddewi Brefi, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanh1973 View Post
So someone got this working with lateral mosfets.
How does it sound?
I got it to work (this was perhaps a year ago) but the pair of F5's -- 2 sets of 2-- use Fairchild devices.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 12:46 AM   #5027
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Smyslow, thanks for schematic
Its saved, and even if not building it, there may be one or two tricks I can learn from

btw, Amplimo 300VA comes in small voltage steps, 12-15-#17#-18-20-22-25-28-30-33-35
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 01:59 AM   #5028
Blues is offline Blues  United States
Lightning In A Bottle
diyAudio Member
 
Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Milky Way
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
...

And has no one mentioned cascoding these?

Done that...
__________________
Life simplified! Leap into the Warpspeed wormhole... http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/warpspeed/1.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 03:50 AM   #5029
diyAudio Member
 
luvdunhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
even my tongue is starting to bump , repeating that

schematic or it didn't happen
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2009, 04:37 AM   #5030
fritz39 is offline fritz39  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Default System needs a few more dB gain to drive F5

I've got a channel of the F5 up and running and I noticed my input to the
amplifier isn't sufficient to get to full output power. Unfortunately, my
speakers only have about 82 dB efficiency so I know I won't get to ear bleeding
levels, but I would at least like to maximize the output. Given the output of my
cd player, I need about 2-3 dB more gain. Any suggestion on how to achieve
this without destroying the quality of the F5? Thanks.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2