F5 power amplifier - Page 462 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th July 2009, 11:58 PM   #4611
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
The F5 sounds different.

It is more detailed, wider bandwidth, and is more aggressive regarding
dynamics and speaker control. The Aleph 30 is a little more laid back.

The decision would tend to revolve around the speakers and your
taste.

  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 01:00 AM   #4612
Jozua is offline Jozua  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Town
Nelson

My Aleph30 clone when used with the Krell 7b pre-amp sounds exceptional with 1 meter long Newform ribbons. I find it extremely musical. With a 600 VA transformer the control is outstanding. I rate it as one of the musical amps I own.

I am collecting parts for the F5 and Aleph J for a possible bi-amp scenario. It would be interesting to see how a F5 with just two output devices per channel will compare,

Regards and many thanks for putting the design within the public domain.


Jozua
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 04:22 AM   #4613
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Sounds like a low gain tubepre could be the soulmate of F5
I might try that
__________________
sometimes we know very little, and sometimes we know too much
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 06:52 AM   #4614
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Quote:
Originally posted by Jozua
many thanks for putting the design within the public domain.
To be clear, the F5 is _not in the public domain - it remains copyright First Watt (as far as I know). All we've been granted is use of the design for personal DIY use. But I certainly join you in the chorus of thanks to Mr. Pass for his generosity and for all his contributions to the community.

-j
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 07:24 AM   #4615
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
Quote:
Originally posted by tinitus
Sounds like a low gain tubepre could be the soulmate of F5
I might try that
If it's not too much trouble, could you share that separately? I'm looking for something similar eventually, and need all the help on tubes I can get. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 11:00 AM   #4616
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Hi,
power just the mains side with ONLY the transformer connected through a bulb tester.

Switch off.
Add the rectifiers and ONE bank of smoothing.
Test again.
Progressively add each bank of smoothing and retest.

Now add one channel of amplifier and test.
Add the second channel and test.
Remove the bulb tester.
Power the whole amplifier from your Variac.
Start it up at low voltage and gradually bring up the voltage.
Periodically check the cap voltages.

When up to full voltage start increasing the bias current on one amplifier. Get is approximate, but on the low side.
Start biasing the second amplifier, again to the low side of final.

Remove the Variac.
Power up again and finalise the bias setting.
Check output offset and output mVac.
When you are happy, connect your source and recheck the offset and mVac.

Finally connect some cheap speakers and have a listen.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 03:57 PM   #4617
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Start up

What a nice advice!
Thank you AndrewT.

I think i should warm it up first was mentioned.
To let it run for 1h to 2h or so,
at just 0.4V instead of 0.59V (R11 and R12),
before setting it at final adjustment.

There is one thing i don't understand at this time:
Well DC-Offset ist measured in V DC i think,
but since i'm a "caveman",
i do not know what mVac means,
and what i have to do with it.

Just measure it at same connection as V DC with V AC?
As low as possible?

Thank you guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 04:28 PM   #4618
pro is offline pro  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Milano
You have to measure VDC (direct voltage). If you don't have a signal at the input, you won't have any VAC (alternate voltage) at output.
__________________
Michele
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 04:55 PM   #4619
diyAudio Member
 
nigelwright7557's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carlisle, England
Default Re: Start up

Quote:
Originally posted by Sisyphism
What a nice advice!
Thank you AndrewT.

I think i should warm it up first was mentioned.
To let it run for 1h to 2h or so,
at just 0.4V instead of 0.59V (R11 and R12),
before setting it at final adjustment.

There is one thing i don't understand at this time:
Well DC-Offset ist measured in V DC i think,
but since i'm a "caveman",
i do not know what mVac means,
and what i have to do with it.

Just measure it at same connection as V DC with V AC?
As low as possible?

Thank you guys!

mVDC means millivolts DC.
A millivolt is a thousandth of a volt.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 05:18 PM   #4620
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally posted by pro
You have to measure VDC (direct voltage). If you don't have a signal at the input, you won't have any VAC (alternate voltage) at output.
no,
there is always a DC voltage at the output and there is always an AC voltage at the output. It depends on whether one has the equipment to measure these voltages.
Both can be well below 1mVdc and below 1mVac.
adding the source instead of shorting the input is very likely to increase one or other or both.

It is always worth checking before connecting the speakers.

My dmm have a full scale reading of 200mVdc and 200mVac (over a very restricted bandwidth).
I have a resolution of 0.1mV on both scales. These can be bought very cheaply with tolerance of better than 0.5%.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2