F5 power amplifier - Page 452 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th July 2009, 06:00 PM   #4511
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
you need high transconductance, medium voltage Vds, lowish noise, jFets of both N and P channel.
Quote:
The input JFETs used are 2SK170 or 2SK370 for the N channel parts (Q1), and 2SJ74 or 2SJ108 for the P channel parts (Q2). In these cases the Idss selection code is BL, although V and GR types will also generally work fine. The primary thing about these particular parts is the transconductance figure of 20 mS many of the potential substitutes are much lower at 4 to 10 mS.
The Pchannel are often the ones that are difficult to source.

Have you downloaded the PASS manual for the F5?
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2009, 07:47 PM   #4512
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
Yup, and I can't find any of those parts, either 74/370 or 108/170 I poked around here on DIYA trying to get an answer and I dug up this thread

Toshiba 2sk370 and 2sj108

But it didn't help any. I'm trying to scour the D-K pages looking for alternates. The voltage ratings are easily available but getting the gm and noise figures are proving quite a task.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2009, 08:32 PM   #4513
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Quote:
Originally posted by sangram
I'm sorry if I missed this in the 180-page thread, but are there any reliable substitutes in the Digikey catalog for the input pair J108/K170?
I've ordered from:
www.amb.org
www.ampslab.com

and have heard good things about:
www.tech-diy.com

These are all based in the US though - contact them to see if they will ship to India. Alternately, I'm sure there are places in Europe that stock these parts - the shipping may be a bit more reasonable.

-j
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2009, 10:49 PM   #4514
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
I bought and recieved all my parts in short order from Jackinnj at Tech-Diy.com ....easy to do business with!

Thanks Jack!

Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 06:24 AM   #4515
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
Thanks a lot for the responses, and even to those who emailed me

I was hoping to save on shipping cost by using a single source for all my parts. I notice that Jack has complete partlists for the F5, so maybe that's the ticket. He does mention something about customs, so I'm assuming he ships international.

European suppliers may have slightly lower shipping, but the parts seem to be more expensive.

I noticed in the 6moons review that Nelson has used 5% Panasonic Metal oxide resistors from D-K. Would there be any downside to just using resistors available locally? The quality of resistors here isn't the best - values may be off tolerance, suspect materials may be used, and resistors may be significantly inductive. But much, much cheaper.

Or potentially, an upside to using 'premium' resistors in this design?

Thanks again!
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 08:45 AM   #4516
lalaina is offline lalaina  Madagascar
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Madagascar (Antananarivo)
Send a message via MSN to lalaina Send a message via Yahoo to lalaina
Default F5

hi

many thanks to all your replies , very helpfull for me.

After some test, I have changed the 3 wires ( +, - , GND) between the capacitor of the power supply and the amplifier card to a torsaded computer lan CAT6 wire.

like this (one channel only for the test)

Click the image to open in full size.

and this is the result of the trace , more stable than before

Click the image to open in full size.

and this

Click the image to open in full size.

at 20khz

Click the image to open in full size.

and for the fun at 1Mhz

Click the image to open in full size.

my power supply , CRC 40 000f+(0,68/4) +100 000f for each line

Click the image to open in full size.

I think that I use a fake 9240 (local seller) , I will post the trace on the gate of the 240 and the 9240. I think that the 2940 that I use have too much capacitance between the gate and the source. I'v forget to save it during test.

Thanks to all

Lalaina
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 08:59 AM   #4517
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator
 
Mooly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
It's looking pretty good overall.
Is this an atifact of the scope/image or is it HF oscillation.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg osc.jpg (14.2 KB, 635 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 09:04 AM   #4518
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator
 
Mooly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
And this also.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg osc2.jpg (17.3 KB, 634 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 09:05 AM   #4519
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator
 
Mooly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
It's still all very good though
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 09:08 AM   #4520
lalaina is offline lalaina  Madagascar
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Madagascar (Antananarivo)
Send a message via MSN to lalaina Send a message via Yahoo to lalaina
Hi Molly,

I think that it is not an oscillation.

this is a digital scope, that is the problem with digital scope


  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2