F5 power amplifier - Page 440 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th July 2009, 03:24 PM   #4391
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally posted by pro
PI isn't a bit overkill is it?
I have made an experiment with 2 x 47000uf only, no resistor ( no pi filter), one channel supplied.

Result:
No hum with 93db efficiency speakers.
Though i have made no measurements.
Ok for me i will go this way
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 03:47 PM   #4392
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
HOT DIGGIS

Seems like I asked the right questions this time!
AndrewT, Babowana, Massimo, You guys are Awesome!
Class is in Session!!!

Wonderful explainations, formulas and debates.

I'll probably go with the Pannosonics.
Thank you all,

As far PSUDII goes it workd great for tube PS but does not have the functions required (like a Thermsistor soft start) for this large, power hungry Class A amp.
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 10:57 PM   #4393
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: melbourne
hi all
heres the pics of the output boards i want to add to the f5 for more power

i realise i will have to change the devices mounted to the baords
and already have enough of the f5 output devices to do this

the f5 will be run the same as the aleph 5 in the pics with 3x n and 3x p devices per amp mounted to the boards via flying leads

when i do this can i crank up the voltage and bias to get more power seeing as im running 6x output devices instead of 2

what sort of power can i expect into 4 ohm and what are ther plus and minus of this approach

regards sheafer
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_1107.jpg (22.5 KB, 807 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 11:00 PM   #4394
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: melbourne
heres a pic of the aleph 5

this is exactly how the f5 will look using the same output boards run from flying leads off the p daniels f5 boards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_1108.jpg (30.2 KB, 817 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 11:12 PM   #4395
diyAudio Member
 
nigelwright7557's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carlisle, England
Quote:
Originally posted by slr 5000
hi all
what sort of power can i expect into 4 ohm and what are ther plus and minus of this approach

regards sheafer
B+ * (b+/ speaker impedance)

If using higher B+ then beware of power dissipation into output transistors and heatsink.

I usually use belt and braces and have a large heatsink plus a couple of fans, one sucking at one corner and the otehr blowing out at the opposite corner.
__________________
PCBCAD50 software. http://www.murtonpikesystems.co.uk
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 05:40 AM   #4396
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
when i do this can i crank up the voltage
And what about the input JFets?
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 08:11 AM   #4397
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: melbourne
sorry double post
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 08:11 AM   #4398
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: melbourne
i have some if i need to add more
in parralell
do i need to ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 11:15 AM   #4399
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Default conversion to 3pair output stage

Hi,
the maximum output power depends totally on the PSU voltage that is available when delivering that maximum power.

The maximum ClassA current depends totally on the bias current you set for the output stage.

The three FETs located near each other will defeat most attempts to dissipate the extra heat expected if you increase the bias by a factor of three and will be exacerbated if you also increase the PSU voltage.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 12:23 PM   #4400
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally posted by slr 5000
i have some if i need to add more
in parralell
do i need to ?
The input jfets would not appreciate to see more than 24v rails.You'll need to cascode them . Here is an example. (input stage only)
(Buzquito JM Plantefève)
Attached Images
File Type: gif buzquito.gif (5.8 KB, 726 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2