F5 power amplifier - Page 369 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th April 2009, 12:49 PM   #3681
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
so In order to prevent hum from ground loops
how you will suggest to connect that pcb to PSU and Input rca /output binding post
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 10:24 PM   #3682
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
One wire from PCB to star ground
One wire from black binding post to star ground
Use shielded wire from RCA to PCB (shielding goes to PCB too)
RCA must be insulated from chassis.
That's it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 12:43 PM   #3683
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
I am contemplating to build an Xed version of th F5 . Post#3644
I had a quick reading again of the whole thread.
It seems to me that an X version is not possible because this topology needs differential inputs. Am i right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 01:53 PM   #3684
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally posted by bobodioulasso
One wire from PCB to star ground
One wire from black binding post to star ground
Use shielded wire from RCA to PCB (shielding goes to PCB too)
RCA must be insulated from chassis.
That's it.

thx
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 03:23 PM   #3685
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
Quote:
Originally posted by samoloko
stein2 can you post a closer picture of your PSU - I would like to know how are you did gnd wiring
with so much capacitance how you are starting up - with soft start or cl-60 what value fuse you use

Sorry for the delay in response, I was away for almost a week on a business trip.
Now I'm back, and a question for you, do you mean my first attempt with wired connections or the new project with the PSU made on PCBs?

As for starting, there's a thermistor from a PC PSU, 10 Ohms NTC in series with the 230V/50Hz primer and a 0.1uF/250V capacitor taken from the contacts of the IEC connector from the same PC PSU connected in parallel with the primer of a 400VA transformer...

If you need a picture showing the PCB, I'll make a few, and if the older wired solution is what you want to see, I'll look for an image showing the details. In both cases there's no issue with hum, ground loop or any audible noise...
__________________
"Calculations? We don't need no stinkin calculations! We just make them really big!" - Papa
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 04:46 PM   #3686
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
Bit too late to edit previous post. Here's an image how I did it without a printed board.
To the "0V" point goes the center tap from the transformer if one rectifier bridge is to be used, and I grounded the heatsinks because the "box" was made of MDF, not metal. In case that the housing is of metal, do not ground the heatsinks with anything, unless they are electrically insulated from the metal of the housing which will be grounded anyway.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg groundingf5.jpg (85.6 KB, 1748 views)
__________________
"Calculations? We don't need no stinkin calculations! We just make them really big!" - Papa
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 02:00 PM   #3687
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
thx for response stein2

If It Is not a problem for you you can post a shot from your new F5
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 02:48 PM   #3688
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
Quote:
Originally posted by samoloko
thx for response stein2

If It Is not a problem for you you can post a shot from your new F5

Bottom...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f5psu_bottom.jpg (70.0 KB, 1600 views)
__________________
"Calculations? We don't need no stinkin calculations! We just make them really big!" - Papa
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 02:51 PM   #3689
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
...top...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f5psu_top.jpg (72.7 KB, 1636 views)
__________________
"Calculations? We don't need no stinkin calculations! We just make them really big!" - Papa
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2009, 01:13 AM   #3690
diyAudio Member
 
luvdunhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
heh I had a bit of bad luck in helping a friend bring up a F5. He wasn't sure about the FQA devices and where they went, and said he used the locations on Jack's website. I figured that was right, so I decided to double-check the AudioExpress article and happened to read the paragraph in the "Parts Selection" that said Q3 is N-channel and Q4 was P-channel... so, it jived with Jacks website, so I figured... it must be right.... WRONG

Anyways, I first tried a 2.5A slo blo and then tried a 3.0A slo blo .. anyways, just blew the fuse both times. So, given what I did, are there any parts I should check? Voltage on the PSU rose like 5-6V then the fuse blew... I figured I could check the parts, but figured I'd be lazy and ask around
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2