F5 power amplifier - Page 212 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th December 2008, 10:25 PM   #2111
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I would also be interested in a board.

I recall there was mention that at some point in time PASS DIY would be offering F5 boards for sale. Perhaps that has fallen by the wayside?
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 12:12 AM   #2112
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Does anyone know which issue NP does a write up in AudioXpress on the F5?
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 12:24 AM   #2113
udailey is offline udailey  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I just shot you an email. But nevermind it. Here is a link to all you need to build it.
http://www.firstwatt.com/downloads/F5-om_sm-080527.pdf
Uriah
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 02:08 AM   #2114
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default another one sided F5 board layout

here is yet another layout. 137mm x 51mm (5 x 2 inches)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf f5 one sided layout 127mm x 51mm.pdf (25.0 KB, 623 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 02:50 AM   #2115
rdk845 is offline rdk845  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default firing up but fuse blowing

please help a newbie... I have made one up with p to p using the Juma's lay out. I have reduced the P1 and P2 value to minimum ( they are 1-5 ohm now) as stated in the Nelson's article and used variac to slowly move up the AC. The fuse blows up before rail voltage reaches 2V.. If I disconnect +- 24 and ground from main board, rail voltage reaches 26V no problem... It appears to me that if P1 and P1 is minimum value all the voltage is applied across JFET. Is this O.K.? What am i doing wrong? I'm using psu board from peter daniel and it seems psu is o.k...

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 04:06 AM   #2116
diyAudio Member
 
bluemartini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ohio
The raw parts are fairly easy to find in the USA. He supplies 10K for for R21-22. I thought I read somewhere that those were changed to 22K ?

You did its back at post 1948, so you would have to replace the 10K provided.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 06:36 AM   #2117
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: firing up but fuse blowing

Quote:
Originally posted by umut1001



we can make single sided pcb ourselves..a double sided board will be better for group buy if Nelson permits....and we need fairchild output transistors..i am agree for group buy
Haha. Are you guys serious? The number of layers is quite irrelevant - you can make the most absolute horrible layout using double layer if you want to. I have used a single layer because no more is needed for this application (when I do phono stages and digital circuits I usually make a ground plane as well). If I had to get the boards manufactured, I might throw in another layer to reduce board size, but then the old farts in here might have troubles stuffing the boards.


Quote:
Originally posted by rdk845
please help a newbie... I have made one up with p to p using the Juma's lay out. I have reduced the P1 and P2 value to minimum ( they are 1-5 ohm now) as stated in the Nelson's article and used variac to slowly move up the AC. The fuse blows up before rail voltage reaches 2V.. If I disconnect +- 24 and ground from main board, rail voltage reaches 26V no problem... It appears to me that if P1 and P1 is minimum value all the voltage is applied across JFET. Is this O.K.? What am i doing wrong? I'm using psu board from peter daniel and it seems psu is o.k...

Thanks!
Sounds like you have a short or have connected your power fets wrongly (if connected wrong, they are just power diodes). Try monitoring the voltage across the source power resistors (r11 and r12) when you turn up the voltage slowly. Otherwise post some detailed pictures and people in here might be able to help you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 06:49 AM   #2118
steenoe is offline steenoe  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
steenoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Default Re: Re: firing up but fuse blowing

Quote:
Originally posted by cviller


Haha. Are you guys serious? If I had to get the boards manufactured, I might throw in another layer to reduce board size, but then the old farts in here might have troubles stuffing the boards.
LOL

  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 10:12 AM   #2119
thermos is offline thermos  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
The PCBs I would like would be PassDIY F5 PCB's.
That would be cool.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 03:13 PM   #2120
diyAudio Member
 
jackinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Llanddewi Brefi, NJ
Quote:
Originally posted by bluemartini
The raw parts are fairly easy to find in the USA. He supplies 10K for for R21-22. I thought I read somewhere that those were changed to 22K ?

You did its back at post 1948, so you would have to replace the 10K provided.
I am now including 22k1 in the parts kit for the F5.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:55 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2