F5 power amplifier

Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
Yeah, I now classA idle bias is at max always, from idle to full blast

Im by no means an expert on such things
But anyway, I dont think you can just use idle consumption to calculate what kind of power is consumed at output terminals, due to various speaker loads
I dont think that idle consumption is the same as power supply needs in low impedance load
But those kind of calculations are really not my kind of thing

I will follow what Nelson recommends, 6A continious and 10A peak, each channel

2x 18Vac, 10A peak, equals 180VA at each secondary = 360VA(watt) total, each channel

I may have been wrong saying it would be minimum
Its just whats optimally needed, no less no more
With this you can probably run it at close to full blast, with just a small audible increase in distortion
With smaller supply distortion may increase before, but on that point Im way over my head

As said, less may work fine, if not loaded too hard
If someone wants something else, tailored for lighter loads, fine
I have done what I could to be very clear on this
F5 manual is quite clear on this
I dont think Im wrong

I think the big difference between Babowana's and Tinitus' calculations is:
B. starts from an average dc current value while T. starts from a peak value.
Isn't it?

Who is near from the right line?

Could you help us, Nelson?

Certainly many of us would like to better understand amplifiers transformer rating.

On the other hand we are into a "First watt" thread. How hard a F5 can be pushed is not her more interesting aspect.
Her sweetness when used in pure class A power makes her best signature.
For hard rock and techno, why not to add a class AB or classD bottom amp, and so, to keep the F5 for a more subtile task?

Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
bobodioulasso said:
I think the big difference between Babowana's and Tinitus' calculations is:
B. starts from an average dc current value while T. starts from a peak value.
Isn't it?