F5 power amplifier - Page 190 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2008, 02:29 PM   #1891
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
I think you're prices are pretty good actually, particularly the matched sets and the convenience.

Good thing I got those TNC and Slit Foil caps from DNM Audio (excellent caps) a few weeks ago!

Pity there wasn't a magic (and cheap!) source of 220uF/50v BG-NX caps and 10kuF/63v Sikorels!!
__________________
... jh
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 02:44 PM   #1892
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default balanced version

Sorry 'garborbela' (?), forgot to add this...

There is balanced design started by Tino on post 130 (p6) and further taken up by EUVL on #1186 (p48).
TimS (NZ) also did a design on #135 and continued... (he also did a rather good one for headphones)

Hope this will get you started in the right direction.
__________________
... jh
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 07:43 PM   #1893
high5 is offline high5  Austria
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hello,

Thanks everyone for your answers! I will try to take a look for some other solutions. At the moment I am using this product:
http://www.falco-systems.com/High_vo...r_WMA-300.html
However, it is only up to +- 150V.
Anyway, thanks to all.
Cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 02:01 AM   #1894
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default Better to wait

Hello
I think for me it will be the best if I wait until Mr N Pass will sare with us the F6 which after some information will be the Balanced verision .
Thanks one more time .
Greetings
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 02:43 AM   #1895
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default Re: Better to wait

Quote:
Originally posted by gaborbela
Hello
I think for me it will be the best if I wait until Mr N Pass will sare with us the F6 which after some information will be the Balanced verision .
Thanks one more time .
Greetings

If it comes out as anticipated, you had better have LU1014 power jfets on hand or start sourcing some now. The F6 is supposed to be higher power version of F3 I believe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 08:05 AM   #1896
h_a is offline h_a  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
h_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Graz, Austria
Quote:
doa jfet follower with laterals
The original DAO uses the fets only for the cascodes, so I'm sorry but laterals are of really little benefit in that circuit.

But - of course - feel free to try

Have fun, Hannes
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 08:15 AM   #1897
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Default Using 2SK1058 in the DAP follower

Do bear in mind that the LU1014 is being used in "triode" mode, and thus the characteristics of the cascode device plays a more important role than a "penthode" device like normal MOSFETs. I would encourage you to try this, but be prepared to vary the cascode gate voltage AND the source resistor value. In any case, always try to measure Id vs Vgs of the LU1014 directly until you get a linear operating regime. I would guess that you would need to reduce the value of both to get optimal results, due to the lower transconductance (or higher effective resistance) of the 2SK1058.

Or if you have reliable Spice models for both, that would make the initial optimisation a bit easier.


Patrick


PS I propose that we should shift any further discussion to the follower thread.

Some other Source Follower COnfigurations
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 01:43 PM   #1898
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Thanks Hannes, Patrick, for the information.

This little bunch of "critters" has an amazing performance - fascinating - must catch up on the linked thread of the "doa follower + " thread.

Back to the F5.
__________________
... jh
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2008, 04:49 AM   #1899
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur
what's the minimum rail voltage for F5 to operate?
Papa recommend 23V to 25V, but can it operate around at +/- 20V or so?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2008, 05:39 AM   #1900
defect9 is offline defect9  Ireland
diyAudio Member
 
defect9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carson City, NV
it could operate lower, i believe, but remember that the sound changes slightly depending on voltage. the amp with the power supply outlined in the user manual/schema says to use a transformer with dual 18v secondaries, if i recall, which gets you something like 24v rails (is that right? its been a while for me)

-J
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2