F5 power amplifier - Page 163 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th August 2008, 05:59 PM   #1621
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
> every one that did, now have a stack of flat batteries

Have you not heard of Optima Yellow Deep Discharge Lead Acid Batteries (75Ah) ?

We run our Aleph-X 100W with two of those, per monoblock.


Patrick
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 06:29 PM   #1622
udailey is offline udailey  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Patrick might be able to help Audioholik with his voltage question. I believe his F5 is running 16V rails.?.
Of course he is running his own balanced version but might have some good input.
Also, looks like Fredlock is getting 22V rails http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showt...12#post1565412
And I went back but didnt see any Zen schematics. Must have been in the B1 thread.
Uriah
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 09:36 PM   #1623
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
As posted umteen posts ago, the balanced version I built runs on +/-16V rails, and is biased at 2A per MOSFET. No problems with 16V as far as I am concerned.

But if you wish to reproduce the results Nelson published, then you should build as in his article.


Patrick
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 11:57 AM   #1624
Nordic is offline Nordic  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
Nordic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Attached is what I deem to be corrections regarding the fets that where pointed out. Maybe someone could just double check...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f5_v2.jpg (72.8 KB, 2177 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 03:24 PM   #1625
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
I could be wrong, and I suppose it would be easier to look it up than argue, but, I'll stick my neck out with this suggestion: I seem to remember most of the FirstWatt units are using an 18-18 250VA transformer?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 05:16 PM   #1626
JimT is offline JimT  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Waterloo
R14 on the IRFP924 has holes, but is not marked.

Quote:
Originally posted by Nordic
Attached is what I deem to be corrections regarding the fets that where pointed out. Maybe someone could just double check...
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 05:28 PM   #1627
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Looks pretty good, i like the layout, The output fets on one side, is a key idea.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 05:31 PM   #1628
Nordic is offline Nordic  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
Nordic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Jim, I don't see the error you mention, everything looks connected...
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 05:38 PM   #1629
JimT is offline JimT  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Waterloo
I see R14 by the IRFP240, but I do not see R13 by the IRFP9240. Perhaps I have just missed it.

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 05:48 PM   #1630
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
R13 is placed horizontal, under the thermistor.
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2