F5 power amplifier - Page 1332 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th September 2013, 02:31 PM   #13311
TTo is offline TTo  Finland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I do enjoy. It is a very fine amplifier.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2013, 02:43 PM   #13312
diyAudio Member
 
KatieandDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Hi there, having condemned the F5 in previous posts as it really didn't like my far less than sensitive B&W DM683s, I'm now considering building another pair for quite a different application.

I've already got an Aleph 4, which at 100W / Channel is a meaty beast and I'm not giving it up for no-ones money.

I'm considering building a tri-amp active speaker - based on the Wilmslow Audio Prestige Platinum, you will see thread of its build also in these pages.

So, I need 6 x capable amplifiers.

I've already got 2 x D White Hi Quality MOS-FET 100W amps. Not as good as any of the Pass offerings but still very good. I was considering giving them the duty of driving the bass driver (ie Sub 400Hz).

The mid driver (400Hz - 3800Hz) I'm going to give to the Aleph 4.

OK, both those amps are 100W, the tweeter (3800Hz - 40kHz) needs only 10W or so which I thought the F4 or F5 would handle nicely.

Anyone got any thoughts on my thoughts ?

Last edited by KatieandDad; 8th September 2013 at 02:45 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 10:48 AM   #13313
acumos is offline acumos  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hi guys I'm following diyaudio build guide, can you tell me if the soft start pcb by diyaudio store can be used in combination with the cl-60?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 10:59 AM   #13314
Itsmee is offline Itsmee  England
diyAudio Member
 
Itsmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
You won't need a CL60 in the mains supply if you use the soft start kit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 11:43 AM   #13315
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
I suggest using the CL-60 as shown in the PSU schematic and saving the soft start for a different amp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 11:43 AM   #13316
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
You can use the CL60, or other Power NTC, instead of fixed value resistor in a soft start.

Do not put power NTCs in parallel. They are OK in series.

I seem to recall that the DIYaudio soft start has the limiting resistors in a parallel arrangement.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 11:44 AM   #13317
acumos is offline acumos  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itsmee View Post
You won't need a CL60 in the mains supply if you use the soft start kit.
so I can connect the two primaries directly (240v)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 03:54 PM   #13318
Itsmee is offline Itsmee  England
diyAudio Member
 
Itsmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by acumos View Post
so I can connect the two primaries directly (240v)?
I assume you have two transformers rather than a split primary for 110V (parallel) or 240V (series) operation; you will need a soft start of some description.

I concur with 6L6, Keep It Simple (KISS).

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
I suggest using the CL-60 as shown in the PSU schematic and saving the soft start for a different amp.
AndrewT's suggestion is also a good one, but only recommend if you have lots of experience dealing with the main supply, defiantly not for novices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
You can use the CL60, or other Power NTC, instead of fixed value resistor in a soft start.

Do not put power NTCs in parallel. They are OK in series.

I seem to recall that the DIYaudio soft start has the limiting resistors in a parallel arrangement.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 04:00 PM   #13319
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
As a follow up.
I have a few soft starts and always use series connected resistors in the limiting positions.
I vary between 3 off 20r 5W and 7 off 20r 5W depending on the VA of the transformer.

With any of these I could substitute a power NTC for any single resistor. The more NTCs the better the soft starter.

If I could afford it, I would use CL60 exclusively in my relay bypassed softstarters, but they are just too expensive compared to my 10r and 20r 5W resistors.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2013, 06:03 PM   #13320
acumos is offline acumos  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
[QUOTE=Itsmee;3639247]I assume you have two transformers rather than a split primary for 110V (parallel) or 240V (series) operation; you will need a soft start of some description.

No, I have a single Antek AS-4218, but to KISS I follow NP and use a CL-60 to connect in series the two primaries. Only another question. The officiale diyaudio guide for f5 builders in the list of materials says CL-60 but in the text sometimes refers to CL-12. I don't understand this passage.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2