Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st February 2013, 01:32 PM   #12881
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
speaker terminal ground goes nowhere else, other than the speaker negative

but the signal RCA shield connects to other electronics grounding 'point'
I think that should be the main 'concern'
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 03:03 PM   #12882
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterW View Post
My dual mono F5's
Fast operator.
__________________
BOXES for crying out loud
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 06:20 PM   #12883
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Hahaha Jacco, I must say I haven't seen my wife a lot lately...
Building this amp sure takes some time...
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 06:29 PM   #12884
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Walter -

Use only one bridge as the resistance between chassis earth and audio ground... having two seems like it will only add a potential loop.

Take the speaker return (black or negative speaker connection) from the amp PCB, not the PSU - it's much quieter that way.

Also, if possible, please draw a schematic of your wiring, it will help us understand your connections.

Nice work, by the way - neat wiring, good layout, I'm looking forward to seeing more photos of your amp!
Hi 6L6,

I don't know if I can use only one bridge, cause I have two separate main audio grounds. Or should I connect those first and then go through one bridge to earth? Hmm...
The schematic is attached, it's from the F5T. Only twice in my case; for each ampboard one PSU.
Thanks for the compliment ! I will post more.

Grtz, Walter
Attached Images
File Type: png F5T-PSU.png (102.3 KB, 423 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 06:36 PM   #12885
slungu is offline slungu  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
There is too much concern about these particular Jfets for the front end
of the amplifier. Yes, the 2SJ74 and 2SK170 are really superb, particularly
on the noise front, but this is not as important when we are already dealing
with line level volts instead of millivolts.

You can still get the Fairchild J174, J175, P1086 P channel devices from such
places as Digikey and Mouser, and they are cheap.

The N channel are even easier to get, such as the Fairchild J111. Worst
case you might have to parallel two, but even that is unlikely. You might
have to select them, but at prices like $0.11 for quantities, you can hardly complain.

Better buy them before I do....

Well, I can not find any P-channel J-FET, the Toshiba is available, but at a high price and is operating outside the specification if I am using 32V rail voltage. I also noticed that both J111 and 2SK170 have no problem with the higher voltage, but the 2SJ74 is specified for lower voltage, and none of the other types seem to be available at the usual suppliers around here. Was hoping to do a Turbo V1 with .8A/device.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 08:17 PM   #12886
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Build it with cascoding. Easy to do.

  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 08:33 PM   #12887
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
any reason why the diode bridges diodes are connected in paralel as one bridge, instead double bridge ? (or am I seeing it wrong)
Attached Images
File Type: png F5T-PSU.png (102.3 KB, 404 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 09:06 PM   #12888
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinitus View Post
any reason why the diode bridges diodes are connected in paralel as one bridge, instead double bridge ? (or am I seeing it wrong)
The special audiophile rectifiers come in pairs with 3 pins and only one polarity.
You can't configure them as a standard 4 connection bridge, so you use them
in parallel.

  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 09:25 PM   #12889
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Haha Tinitus, and I'm using those 'special audiophile rectifiers'
You can see them in my picture, the ones with little heatsinks on them...

Initially I bought the 35A/200V rectifier bridges, untill someone told me to use the special diodes. That's why I'm having 2 ground loop breakers
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 09:32 PM   #12890
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
ah, ok, thanks
I have used 8 of them per mono amp
but never noticed each consisted of two diodes in paralel
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2