F5 power amplifier - Page 1274 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th December 2012, 12:23 PM   #12731
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Epcos by any chance?
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 04:31 PM   #12732
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: France
is it possible to build a power supply for the F5 with a transformer that have only one secondary. I already have one 700va
I saw some schematics that create a virtual 0V and have symetrical supplly using only one secondary. Is there any risk at this power ?

regards AQ
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 04:41 PM   #12733
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
search for Quad 606 and 909 schmtcs for recipe

no risk
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 04:47 PM   #12734
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
moonLeo - if your transformer has a centertap, you can do it like this -
Click the image to open in full size.

If no centertap, see the QUAD schematic as ZenMod suggested, you need to make a virtual centertap.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 05:27 PM   #12735
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: France
Thank you for your replies

The transformer has 3 secondaries, 10v at 1.5A, 20v at 1A and finally 45v at 15A.
As zen mod said, I found into the quad 606 service data manual this :

Click the image to open in full size.

I'm thinking of connecting these outputs to the psu board of diyaudio store: V+to D+, GND to D- and D+1, V- to D-1, as the gnd is already created.

Do you think it can run well ?

regards AQ
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 05:53 PM   #12736
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
you have not attached your pic.

The 45Vac should give ~60Vdc.
This can be used with a virtual Earth to give ~+-30Vdc

Or you can use it as a single ended supply and capacitor couple the input and capacitor couple the output.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 06:09 PM   #12737
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: France
Sorry for the picture, this can be better :

Click the image to open in full size.


thank you for the reply AndrewT, about the single ended supply, how do you use capacitor in this case ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2012, 07:38 AM   #12738
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Compare the B1
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2012, 04:10 AM   #12739
gootee is offline gootee  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Indiana
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinitus View Post
I would suggest Pnasonic FR

25V, 3300uf
can size 16x25mm, ESR 14 mohm(0.014)
very impressive 3.8A ripple current
buying 100 of them wouldn't cost much
but to mount and wire them all...

btw, where are the limits regarding lowering ESR and increasing current handling, by paralelling caps ?
(I suppose it takes other considerations than just simple math)
Actually, if we parallel them the best way, then the math gets really simple (because everything gets so peachy that the math basically ceases to be an issue).

I will admit that I have been exploring some ideas abouit paralleling caps. But, even better than that, I found somebody who already knows far more than I do about it!

Anyway, here is a link to the best summary and solution that you're likely to find (this easily :-), about paralleling capacitors for use as reservoir caps in an audio amp power supply (AND as decoupling or "local reservoir" caps at the power output devices):

LM3886 component selection

Yes, you have to go to each of those links. But then you, too, will know...!

I was kind of kidding about the math. "WE" don't have to worry much about it, here. But if an engineer did this at work or for a commercial product, then it would be very important. You will read about it very briefly, if you follow the link and the sublinks, but it involves determining the optimal shape of an array of capacitors connected between two conductive planes, so that the current flowing between some edge and some other edge (of the planes) "spreads out" well-enough to utilize all of the capacitors.

The reason I mentioned that is because you were wondering about "limits". Well, one of the limits, for paralleling capacitors, is how many you can fit where, while still increasing the beneficial effects by enough to matter, and to be worth doing, as the number of caps is increased. And it turns out that certain shapes of arrays of parallel caps are better than others. And definitely certain interconnection methods are better than others. Any limitations will arrive much more quickly if solid conductive planes are not used, I believe. But just read the links. The (MEASURED!) impedance numbers are extremely impressive. (And if we use enough parallel caps, then their individual current-handling ability becomes much less important, too.)

Last edited by gootee; 15th December 2012 at 04:21 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2012, 05:16 AM   #12740
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
How about using superconductors for the interconnects?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2