F5 power amplifier - Page 1244 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st May 2012, 10:36 PM   #12431
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Probably best for a newbie to build the original circuit first. It's the simple and easy to get running, and you don't need matched outputs.

If you like that, then experiment with dual outputs etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2012, 08:13 PM   #12432
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default F5 p3 adjustment

Hello,

Thanks for the advice, I will start with a standard rev1 F5. In regards to the P3 adjustment, I have spend 2 hrs searching for a solution and can't find the answer.

Would a USB scope with FFT be adequate for P3 adjustment?

I was thinking about DSO-2250 USB Scope or the VT DSO-2810F. In that case the sound card would be the signal generator. Is that ok? (i'd imagine the FFT functions compares input with output to generate THD graphs?)

Otherwise what is a acceptable setup for this? I'd like to avoid buying an expensive sound card, unless necessary.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2012, 10:15 PM   #12433
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrimu View Post
Hello,

Thanks for the advice, I will start with a standard rev1 F5. In regards to the P3 adjustment, I have spend 2 hrs searching for a solution and can't find the answer.

Would a USB scope with FFT be adequate for P3 adjustment?

I was thinking about DSO-2250 USB Scope or the VT DSO-2810F. In that case the sound card would be the signal generator. Is that ok? (i'd imagine the FFT functions compares input with output to generate THD graphs?)

Otherwise what is a acceptable setup for this? I'd like to avoid buying an expensive sound card, unless necessary.

Thanks,
This sound card is not expensive and work great for THD measurement:

http://www.amazon.com/M-Audio-US4175.../dp/B00064ABSG
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2012, 10:32 PM   #12434
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
This sound card is not expensive and work great for THD measurement:
Amazon.com: M-Audio US41750 Audiophile 192 Hi-def Aud Card: Musical Instruments
Looks like a good deal indeed! What about the recommended software?

I found this thread: Measuring THD+N

ARTA does not look like the screen shots i see on this thread...

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2012, 10:41 PM   #12435
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrimu View Post
Looks like a good deal indeed! What about the recommended software?

I found this thread: Measuring THD+N

ARTA does not look like the screen shots i see on this thread...

Thanks.
This Windows software works well for me. I use it on Linux using Wine.
Visual Analyser 2011 XE
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2012, 11:10 PM   #12436
Rush is offline Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhquam View Post
This Windows software works well for me. I use it on Linux using Wine.
Visual Analyser 2011 XE
Is there anything like this for us Apple user's? Mac Mini or Macbook Pro?
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2012, 12:13 AM   #12437
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush View Post
Is there anything like this for us Apple user's? Mac Mini or Macbook Pro?
See MacOSX - The Official Wine Wiki
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2012, 10:08 PM   #12438
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Does one need a sort of buffer protection to connect the amp output to the sound card line-in?
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2012, 01:21 AM   #12439
regal is offline regal  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrimu View Post
Does one need a sort of buffer protection to connect the amp output to the sound card line-in?
Yes The sound card will only accept about 1Vrms in, which doesn't give you a very good picture.

Cheap easy buffer is an O2 (see the headphone section) set to no gain. It certainly isn't as good as pmillets interface but it probably introduces less noise/distortion.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2012, 02:41 PM   #12440
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Did anybody notice that this thread has now more than

2 Million Views!!!

  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2