F5 power amplifier - Page 1232 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th April 2012, 05:56 PM   #12311
fdlsys is offline fdlsys  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
fdlsys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charly1 View Post
Thanks Yes thats why I have two transformer with each center tap winding. My problem is how can I use this Jims board with two seperate bridges.
What does it matter who made the PCBs? They all have the (+)-(0)-(-).
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 07:54 PM   #12312
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdlsys View Post
What does it matter who made the PCBs? They all have the (+)-(0)-(-).
On the output, yes. But the input to the board is different depending on which particular board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charly1
Thanks Yes thats why I have two transformer with each center tap winding. My problem is how can I use this Jims board with two seperate bridges.
It depends on which Jims board you have and your transformers. Can you give more detail and/or post some photos?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 11:37 PM   #12313
Charly1 is offline Charly1  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
On the output, yes. But the input to the board is different depending on which particular board.



It depends on which Jims board you have and your transformers. Can you give more detail and/or post some photos?
Many thanks for the answer.. I used the big one with 8 caps and 8 resistors. Its seems he design it for one channel. I used 2 boards on my amp now fine..thanks again
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 06:59 PM   #12314
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brunei
Just wanted to report back: the only fault was the wrongly supplied feedback resistor.

The amp is running now!! Still burning in the caps, but it sounds sooo smooth in the highs and mids!
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 11:44 AM   #12315
diyAudio Member
 
formula 22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: El Triunfo
Quote:
Originally Posted by studiostevus View Post
Just wanted to report back: the only fault was the wrongly supplied feedback resistor.

The amp is running now!! Still burning in the caps, but it sounds sooo smooth in the highs and mids!
What a miracle 1232 page directly!??
Allow phonetic typing.
Cheers!



Kakvo cudo 1234 sranice!!????


What a miracle 1234 page directly!??


Cheers!

Last edited by formula 22; 3rd May 2012 at 11:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 04:22 PM   #12316
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Ok, here is a question for those if you much smarter than I -- (which is most everybody...)

During the assembly of my new F5, (one channel of) the amp PCB was grounded via the mounting screws, and it took me a bit of time with it powered up to figure out the problem.

Throughout this time the PSU was powered with a 100w light bulb on the mains lead (I.E., a mains lead tester). (Yes, it was fairly bright then...)

Once the metal mounting screws were replaced with nylon, there was no more problem and things were completely normal. Nothing seems burnt, scorched and/or overheated.

Now that both channels are completed and the amp measures and biases normally, the channel that was shorted sounds a bit fuzzy. (it's subtle, but very much there.)

My question is this - Which of the transistors (inputs, outputs, limiters) would most likely have been hurt by this episode? Obviously I could replace the whole set, but if I don't have to go that far, I would rather just replace the suspect ones.

Also, is there any easy test to see if the devices are damaged? (I probably don't have the equipment necessary, as the amp is operative, just a bit wonky...)
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 04:33 PM   #12317
Pemo is online now Pemo  Mexico
diyAudio Member
 
Pemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Echegaray, Naucalpan, Estado de México
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Ok, here is a question for those if you much smarter than I -- (which is most everybody...)
I can assure you, that if you are into DIY anything, you are one of the most intelligent in the world.

  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 04:35 PM   #12318
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
You might use your ohm meter to ohm out conections on the top half vs the bottom 1/2 (swithcing red to black where appropriate) and look for significant differences???
So waht was connected wrong during the episode? Which screw was it?
__________________
"It was the perfect high end audio product: Exotic, inefficient, expensive, unavailable, and toxic." N.P.

Last edited by flg; 14th May 2012 at 04:38 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 04:41 PM   #12319
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
I'm not sure of the suspect screw, (Nothing was obvious) I just replaced them all with nylon and went merrily on my way -- fat, dumb, and happy...
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2012, 04:50 PM   #12320
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
desolder 2 bjts from protection first , and hear is there difference .

besides these , there are just 4 important transistors

you can start from small ones , changing one by one and listening is there positive change

in fact , that demands less energy than typin' one post and reading 3 replies

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2