F5 power amplifier - Page 1178 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th January 2012, 11:29 PM   #11771
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Speaker protection pass f5(dual output)

Is it nessacary. After going thru the forum far and wide,

So am I right in assuming that the speaker protection mechanisms we are not confident off.

I have never blown fuses on my B&K7270 I am using it for almost 7 years.

I feel it is less likely that speakers would get damaged because of stabilized(tested) amplifier.

Would like to run on Old speakers for a month later switch it back to New speakers. How does it sound.

I see that the original pass f5 from firstwatt.com has protection. Are these copyrighted.

Others can comment too.

Thanks
Pandu
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2012, 11:30 PM   #11772
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Regarding O/P protection -

My 'diy efforts' are occassionally suffer from mistakes, despite the much repeated checking/testing and as my speakers are the result of much time & effort, adding the extra relays in the signal path is an obvious choice and fortunately, I have not found any sound quality degradation, so far, even testing with the h/phones - other builders might differ, naturally.

[Besides, the P/S Rail C multipliers don't quite charge up together at the same rate so need to delay the load connection for a few minutes for this, and the bias, to settle down]

For the h/phones, I would still like to find a reliable circuit that drops out the relays with a dc offset of less than 100mV, if anyone knows of one .....
__________________
... jh
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 12:29 AM   #11773
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
And a note to those who have been waiting patiently, I'm about 10 days
from releasing the F5 Turbo Kraken.

the coming 10 days will not be easy start from this moment!
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 01:32 AM   #11774
diyAudio Member
 
Malotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
And a note to those who have been waiting patiently, I'm about 10 days from releasing the F5 Turbo Kraken.
Click the image to open in full size.

10 days... seems like an eternity
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 07:03 AM   #11775
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameshillj View Post
Regarding O/P protection -



For the h/phones, I would still like to find a reliable circuit that drops out the relays with a dc offset of less than 100mV, if anyone knows of one .....
Try to gogle up NTE7100 while there may also gogle up the amplimo relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 07:44 AM   #11776
diyAudio Member
 
triode_al's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westland
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by juma View Post
Are there any valves involved ?
__________________
DAC TDA1541 S1; Kondo post-I/V filter; MC30-Super --> two stage RIAA; Pre: SP-6 clone ; F5 ; 300B PP ; ESL 57
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 08:22 AM   #11777
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Thanks Bk - not sure lowest stable dc detection, particularly for h/phones - tricky area.
__________________
... jh
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 09:05 AM   #11778
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameshillj View Post
Thanks Bk - not sure lowest stable dc detection, particularly for h/phones - tricky area.
100 mV shuld be plenty to charge up the capacitors
Just play about with the value of the resistors (56K?)

I am new at this and my math is baaaaaaad sorry if I can't help more.
Maybe if you use a dummy load and manage to ofset the amplifier you can get the right values by using a pot worked for me

The spec of the NTE give you the voltages needed to trigher the relay
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 09:13 AM   #11779
Dzius is offline Dzius  Poland
diyAudio Member
 
Dzius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Warsaw
Default P3 and tuning to 2nd harmonic

I observed very interesting phenomena. Even though I added some distortion i.e. 2nd harmonic and in this way THD is probably worse, but sound is more breathy and clear than before. Not only resonant as one can expect.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 10:44 AM   #11780
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Okay Bk - thanks - will try it out - and the fancy Amplimo relays!

Looking forward to the Turbo details.
__________________
... jh
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:05 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2