Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th January 2012, 06:26 PM   #11601
Rixsta is offline Rixsta  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria
Send a message via Skype™ to Rixsta
Default using 35v Transformer?

I have a Centre tapped Toroidal here, two sets of 35V / 4,3A = 2 x 208Watt
so i was wondering if its possible i can use this for the F5 if i use half the winding then i could get two sets of 17.5v ? which seems perfect to me, i dont know of any other way to get ~18v i need from this transformer.
Cheers Riki

Last edited by Rixsta; 12th January 2012 at 06:33 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 06:31 PM   #11602
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
???
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 06:51 PM   #11603
Rixsta is offline Rixsta  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria
Send a message via Skype™ to Rixsta
Hi sorry im not that knowledgeable in electronics, basicly is it possible to use only one half of transformer for example..
Click the image to open in full size.

just use 15volts rather than the full 30, its basicly a 35v transformer i have so i need half that for the F5 psu i think, and i also do not know the drawbacks to doing this if it works, im probably posting in the wrong place for newbie questions lol

I previously built the lovely sounding Zen V4 amp by Mr Pass, but just feel a bit uncomftable with the Psu side of things!

Last edited by Rixsta; 12th January 2012 at 06:57 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 06:59 PM   #11604
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
1. what is declared voltage of primary ( 2x115Vac ? ) ?

2. what is declared voltage of secondary ( 2 x 35Vac ? ) ?

3. what is declared VA for normal connection ( core VA ) ?
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 07:22 PM   #11605
Rixsta is offline Rixsta  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria
Send a message via Skype™ to Rixsta
ive just answered my own question
2 secondarys

PRI = 230v ac Brown-Blue
SEC 35v ac / 4.3A
SEC 35v ac / 4.3A

two secondarys with no centre-tap, i got it wrong basicly i cant use this with the F5 as the voltage is way to high! hah u learn!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 07:38 PM   #11606
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Rixsta - to verify, it has a single primary?
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 07:46 PM   #11607
Variac is online now Variac  United States
diyAudio Editor
 
Variac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Francisco, USA
Solution is easy - move to USA or other country with 115v mains, and the transformer will be perfect voltage. A bit small VA though

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rixsta View Post
ive just answered my own question
2 secondarys

PRI = 230v ac Brown-Blue
SEC 35v ac / 4.3A
SEC 35v ac / 4.3A

two secondarys with no centre-tap, i got it wrong basicly i cant use this with the F5 as the voltage is way to high! hah u learn!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 07:59 PM   #11608
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
either that , or to use looooong extension cord

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 08:04 PM   #11609
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I'm done taking photos and such and then I'm off to the coast to write
the text. This and the F6 will be done before the end of the month.

There are several versions of the F5 TURBO.

Lots of room to play.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2012, 08:07 PM   #11610
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
The problem can easily be solved by splitting the single rail with too high voltage into splitted rails using a simple discrete virtual ground circuit, e.g. :

Virtual Ground Circuits

I have used the Sijosae circuit in the above link successfully in my very first 4-FET Aleph-X. You just need to use high power BJTs instead of those small signal devices in the schematics. In my (antique) version, the bias was set at 200mA.

The circuit based on a single BUF634 is also a good one and easy to build.


Patrick
__________________
xen-audio.com

Last edited by EUVL; 12th January 2012 at 08:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2