F5 power amplifier - Page 1122 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd November 2011, 11:36 AM   #11211
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
As long as we are making the automotive analogy, you might want a bigger cooling system...
I am ready for it as you and Can Am Man say and looking forward for this new one

As long as electricity price stay as it is, great, but realy hope it will no need petrol as 20 miles gallon on byturbo car is realy hurting already.

300X400x83 sinks just begghin to get hot.

PS (big secret) cost about 50 each + P&P and anodising cost
+ heat spreaders and 20 hours hand lapping and such.

Came from small firm in Italy (do not even know how credit card or Paypall works)
But can send invoice copy to selcted few if you ask.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Case 2 (1).jpg (600.9 KB, 787 views)
File Type: jpg Heath spreaders 007.jpg (769.6 KB, 763 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 03:24 PM   #11212
erpiii is offline erpiii  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Land of the Morlocks
Bskabath...

Looks like that Dremel drill press is getting a work out!

How do you like drilling copper? I found it a bit-breaking experience.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 03:35 PM   #11213
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
...lots of cooling fluid and slow speed does it.

  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 05:23 PM   #11214
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Drill press fine for pilots then Just makita with piece of string as plumb bob.

Drilling copper is a right pain as it binds to blades and bits so yess Cee Vee is right.
(but then somebody that never done it would say that it is easy peasy)

If you got no drill press (she would go balistic if she see such a thing) get extra loads of decent drill bits and then duble up on that.

So a really realy orrible and boring and frustrating Job (about 20 hours just for heath spreders) but hey not getting paid to do such athing so yess give us same more.


PS I have so far mounted a few sets of Mosfets and still have not stripped a tread on the sinks. worth it?

IMO yess
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 05:37 PM   #11215
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
A drill press is really usefull because you can go down to very low speeds and still have decent torque to cut....and you can control pressure on the copper surface better.

It's the same problem with aluminium, just worse in copper because it heats up quicker.

Problem is that material becomes soft if not cooled and then the bit sticks and/or breaks.

So it is absolutely essential to keep material cool and harder for a decent cut.

Dremel is not a good idea because speed it too high, the bigger drill presses are much slower.

In my CNC i get arround this using cutting bits with only one cutting face, same as alu, this prevents soft material from stricking between cutting faces and seizing the bit.

Since there are no drill bits with only one face.....use slower speed.

Last edited by CeeVee; 23rd November 2011 at 05:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 08:10 PM   #11216
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Sorry maybe wrong place to post this but realy ticle my funny bone.

On tomorow daily rags classified...

New Girlfriend wanted.
Must own a CNC machine and tooling
Please send picture of the CNC machine.

Drill press would be also considered provided is a newer hardly used model.

On a more serious note

This is DIY no flipping power tools or bits bought from IKEA alowed
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 08:28 PM   #11217
Variac is offline Variac  United States
diyAudio Editor
 
Variac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Francisco, USA
Its OK to use bowls and handles and countertops from Ikea as raw materials..
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 08:33 PM   #11218
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Course it is provided those are used for totaly different purposes than what they vhere made for and that when you are ready to give up for the day you got few bruises burnt finghers or bleading somevhere.

So no going about braghin I made that whitout even reading the instruction braghin about.

I got same old XO botletops that will do nicely as Volume and imput selector Knobs (IMO that is alowd) when and if I get the bit to make a decent PRE

Last edited by Bksabath; 23rd November 2011 at 08:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 09:55 PM   #11219
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bksabath View Post


This is DIY no flipping power tools or bits bought from IKEA alowed
BKsabath....CNC not allowed in your world of DIY ?

I happen to like well finished audio gear...anything wrong with that ?

Last edited by CeeVee; 23rd November 2011 at 09:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2011, 10:07 PM   #11220
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Well by now you should know that I am jooking.


If you got one You luky R&D
Just use the wretched thing and show off will you.

I am not alowed to get one because
1 loft ceiling will fall off.
2 I will certanly get cougt while triing to smugle the thing upstairs in bits.
3 To chiiken to face the musik once cought
4 It will make to much noise so I will certanly get cought.

Just be nice and post pictures of your CNC so I could hate you even more
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2