F5 power amplifier - Page 1072 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th June 2011, 10:58 AM   #10711
_henry_ is offline _henry_  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
i second that.

i used beyma12cx and alpha15, with f5 for beyma and symasym for the alpha.

they are great.

cheers
henry
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2011, 11:12 AM   #10712
EUVL is offline EUVL  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Normal CD has 2V rms output (single ended), so +/- 2.8V pk-pk.
Say you need some sort of volume control (I certainly do), minimum 6 db, pure passive.
That reduces the input to the F5 to +/- 1.4V.

The F5 has a gain of 6, which means 8.4V.

The standard F5 should has maximum output at around 20V, a balanced F5 with 4 FETs at around 12V per side.
Still quite some room from 8.4V, don't you think ?


Patrick
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2011, 11:21 AM   #10713
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by EUVL View Post
Normal CD has 2V rms output (single ended), so +/- 2.8V pk-pk.

The F5 has a gain of 6

The standard F5 should has maximum output at around 20V,
A CDP is generally 2Vac to 2.2Vac, near enough 3Vpk or 6Vpp.
An F5 gain of 6 times gives speaker voltage of 18Vpk, or 36Vpp. That is very close to maximum power.
__________________
regards Andrew T.

Last edited by AndrewT; 26th June 2011 at 11:23 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2011, 08:17 PM   #10714
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Default need help

Hi,

I replaced my mosfet Q4, R14, r16, & 18 ( &R11 + R12) because my amp blew r14, and blackened R11 & R12.

I've hooked it up again, but I'm getting no voltage (.000v) across R12 when I attempted to check the bias.

So I'm guessing one of the transistors isn't functioning? Would it be Q2 or Q6 that powers that mosfet?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2011, 12:12 PM   #10715
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Ok, I think I know why I blew up my amp.

I had a ztx550 instead of a ztx450 in my circuit.

I'll need to find some ztx450 for my F5. Does anyone have any spares?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2011, 01:03 PM   #10716
diyAudio Member
 
jackinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Llanddewi Brefi, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin2069er View Post
Ok, I think I know why I blew up my amp.

I had a ztx550 instead of a ztx450 in my circuit.

I'll need to find some ztx450 for my F5. Does anyone have any spares?
PM Me, I can send you some.

In the interim, you can disable the protection circuit and still run the amp if you set up the bias carefully.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2011, 04:29 PM   #10717
ljm_ljm is offline ljm_ljm  China
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Summer is hot. Mr. PASS had designed a CLASS B amplifier equipment? My whole body is sweat
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2011, 06:46 PM   #10718
diyAudio Member
 
regiregi22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Incursions into class D
__________________
diyAudio, doing it as big as you can, JUST BECAUSE WE CAN!
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2011, 03:02 PM   #10719
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Default f5 cviller 1.0

Hi,

I really missed the boat on Q5 & Q6. I've got the right transistors in place but I've got them backwards I believe.

The bubble on the circuit board aren't correct right? I've orientated my transistor towards the bubbles.

I'll have to clip them out and pop in some fresh ones and make sure they're in correct before if blows up on me again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2011, 04:36 PM   #10720
udailey is offline udailey  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Not sure which transistors or which board you mean, but is it possible that the transistor must be mounted from the back side of the board?
__________________
purchase LDRs anytime Also try my Resistor Replacers or LDR based Input Selector Email me. diyldr@gmail.com
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2