F5 power amplifier - Page 1051 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st April 2011, 07:47 AM   #10501
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
well

even if tempting , I abandoned trying to imagine 60 pcs of 5U4G , needed to replace solid state bridges in F5

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2011, 09:52 AM   #10502
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russellc View Post
Before I screw up my perfect working (except no thermistors) F-5 I want to get this straight. Usually when something appears to pass over but is connected, there is a "dot".....can someone straighten me out on this minor wiring issue?
use that oft repeated advice and plug in via a mains bulb tester.
Even if you have completely mis-wired the dual primaries and mis-wired the dual secondaries, the worst that will happen is the the bulb indicates fault by lighting brightly. No fuse blown, no damage to your new mains powered project and most importantly no injury to you.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2011, 01:20 PM   #10503
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
use that oft repeated advice and plug in via a mains bulb tester.
Even if you have completely mis-wired the dual primaries and mis-wired the dual secondaries, the worst that will happen is the the bulb indicates fault by lighting brightly. No fuse blown, no damage to your new mains powered project and most importantly no injury to you.
I have a variac as well as a dim bulb I built for tube amps before obtaining the variac.

russellc
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2011, 08:51 PM   #10504
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I bet you wear a belt and suspenders

  Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2011, 08:58 PM   #10505
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
I......... and suspenders

which of these ones ?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg RED SUSPENDERS.jpg (37.5 KB, 601 views)
File Type: jpg tool-belt-suspenders.jpg (19.1 KB, 594 views)
File Type: jpg nicole-suspenders-01.jpg (29.4 KB, 593 views)
File Type: jpg sock garters.jpg (27.0 KB, 574 views)
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM

Last edited by Zen Mod; 1st April 2011 at 09:02 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 01:18 AM   #10506
eyoung is offline eyoung  United States
diyAudio Member
 
eyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sunny SC,USA 15 min south of Charlotte NC
After reading the extensive Hafler DH200 etc thread, I bought a Variac and built a dim bulb(me) power cord. With tubes you can plug and pray but with three legged fuses you better be safe than buying twice the number of Si based lifeforms you want to sacrifice to the gods of HiFi...
That being said I choose #1 for myself and #3 for my better half...

not as good as I once was, but as good once as I ever was...

mE
__________________
"Lead me not into temptation...I can find it myself."
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 03:17 AM   #10507
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russellc View Post
I have a variac as well as a dim bulb I built for tube amps before obtaining the variac.

russellc
Gees? Only two safeguards? Maybe you ought to try a Ground Fault Interrupt (GFI) receptacle and a whole-house surge arrestor, too.... and maybe a large commercial magnetic circuit breaker on your town's power grid..... LOL

Makes me feel bad, now..... When I first fired up my F5 DIY and I couldn't borrow a large variac, my "safety system" was my wife holding the power cord at the wall outlet, ready to yank it, if Acrid (the ancient Greek god of pungent smoke) appeared....!
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 09:24 AM   #10508
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanAm Man View Post
.....my "safety system" was my wife holding the power cord at the wall outlet, ready to yank it, if Acrid (the ancient Greek god of pungent smoke) appeared....!
seems you're really dumb enough to be member of club ;

you forgot to give bare wires to her

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 09:42 AM   #10509
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thanks for the tip. You guys are always full of good ideas.
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 09:47 AM   #10510
Luke is offline Luke  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wellington NZ
Send a message via AIM to Luke
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
seems you're really dumb enough to be member of club ;

you forgot to give bare wires to her

why, she seems useful
__________________
If you give a man a fish he will eat for a day. But if you teach a man to fish he will buy an ugly hat. And if you talk about fish to a starving man then you are a consultant. Dilbert
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2