Pumpkin preamp - More Boring Making Thread - Page 5 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th November 2007, 11:21 PM   #41
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by steenoe


Me? Ya talking to me?, I am right here Just received the package today and those boards are way to nice to destroy with any solder stuff In fact they are so nice that I doubt that I can part with the set that you are supposed to have I also doubt that you have a bigger pcb collection than mine, I always order 2 sets of boards, one for building, one for collecting I am not getting slow on the trigger, I just wanted (for once) to see how you guys would do on your own That is not goin' too well, to say the least..... He-he...
On another note, thanks a lot to the Dynamic Serbian duo for offering these finely made boards to us starving DIY'ers. They are in fact, magnificent work. Just superb

Steen



if you insist - jormajj found before me what numbers for heatsinks are adequate ,at usual vendors :

Fischer
SK81-50 SA
SK75-50

Austerlitz
KS100.3-50
KS32.1-50E

ya realy like them?

just don't loose eeny weeny parts
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
 
Old 10th November 2007, 11:38 PM   #42
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by steenoe

Not a chance

Me?, I will swap the 310 thingies with some Toshiba 2SK369V's.
Why?? Just because I have them


you'll have trouble with pinout

and lookout from highish input level
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
 
Old 13th November 2007, 07:47 PM   #43
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Let's hope the guys at that forum handle Germanium better you, yea Sheetness.

Me sez : "like MKIII", also shunt type, but not the same.
The MKIII also has regulators on the amp boards, like CTC deepthroat.
Shunty good enuf for me, 8 of them.
__________________
The buck stops Here
 
Old 17th November 2007, 12:19 PM   #44
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark, Fredericia
Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Hi... And nice weekend to all here...

Official making thread... I allway's like looking at picture's, so here is one more from me.

I am making final assembling of complete . On picture both my newly 'designed' inputselector + toslink-switch (To switch between 2 digital sources) is to be seen. Right at picture is a dual +5vdc PSU (1 for toslink thing's, and the other for turning relay's on/off)

My inputselector is made completly foolproof (NO COMMENT HERE PLEASE ). One(Me) can switch between 3 RCA input's (sry. ZenMod for not making it complete balanced), and 1 balanced input.

The 3 RCA (unbalanced) input's, also closes the -in connection, on both sides of 4deck alps pot. When balanced in is choosen, the -in connection opens up for that signal too. This is controlled by a normal 4positions rotary selector.
Normally i will use balanced out, but also here i made a switch, which are going to be placed on back of to switch between balanced/unbalanced out.

Just diden't tried it yet... maybee tomorrow ... but have to go now ...

Jesper.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pumpkinfinal1.jpg (99.4 KB, 1483 views)
__________________
/// got to catch up again ///
 
Old 18th November 2007, 07:59 AM   #45
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by lykkedk
Please stop all that O.T. guys... hehe let's get back into battle ...

Anyway, this might be a dumb quistion, but i just got a thought about shortning -out, when not in use, is it ok to short -out to gnd ? or should it just be left 'open' ???

Please bare with me!

Jesper.

short it
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
 
Old 18th November 2007, 08:59 AM   #46
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark, Fredericia
Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Quote:
short it
Thank's man... Actually i just tried it.

If i feed with 2vac sine, then 30vac sine come's out unbalanced, with -out 'open'... with -out closed, it spitzz out 45vac sine... that's a big difference...

JUST don't understand why ??? but nevermind... it work's fine.
I make this unbal/bal selector, so that i got possibility to use with other amp's than my F4...

Jesper.
__________________
/// got to catch up again ///
 
Old 18th November 2007, 12:22 PM   #47
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by lykkedk


Thank's man... Actually i just tried it.

If i feed with 2vac sine, then 30vac sine come's out unbalanced, with -out 'open'... with -out closed, it spitzz out 45vac sine... that's a big difference...

JUST don't understand why ??? but nevermind... it work's fine.
I make this unbal/bal selector, so that i got possibility to use with other amp's than my F4...

Jesper.

it's easy to understand - you always need two points to establish any voltage difference ;
with one leg open , you have gnd somewhere, but not really where it need to be ;

when you ground one of outputs ( you know - you can choose which leg you'll ground ) you have established both points , needed for current flow......

be careful - using with F4 oriented gain setting - with other amps
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
 
Old 18th November 2007, 05:29 PM   #48
Paper mache horn fabricator
diyAudio Member
 
carpenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oregon City, Oregon
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod



it's easy to understand - you always need two points to establish any voltage difference ;
with one leg open , you have gnd somewhere, but not really where it need to be ;

when you ground one of outputs ( you know - you can choose which leg you'll ground ) you have established both points , needed for current flow......

be careful - using with F4 oriented gain setting - with other amps

So, the pumpkin does single-ended out. I thought it might, but forgot where I read, or forgot to ask.

Just remember to ground one of the outputs. Check.

If this is supposed to be an inverting amp, do I gound the negative out?
__________________
I enjoy audio so much that I constructed a web site. I share my ideas at: www.inlowsound.com
 
Old 18th November 2007, 05:47 PM   #49
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by carpenter



So, the pumpkin does single-ended out. I thought it might, but forgot where I read, or forgot to ask.

Just remember to ground one of the outputs. Check.

If this is supposed to be an inverting amp, do I gound the negative out?

where is the fun if I tell you everything?



just imagine xformer instead of ; both prim and sec CT-ed .


__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
 
Old 18th November 2007, 06:11 PM   #50
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark, Fredericia
Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Quote:
it's easy to understand - you always need two points to establish any voltage difference ;
with one leg open , you have gnd somewhere, but not really where it need to be ;
Woow... ofcause ZenMod... easy to understand, i also know that about floating gnd, but didn't just think of it in this case. I don't know why, but sometimes it's difficult to me to understand thing's in other perspectives than the one's i used to work with...

This is a very good explanation ZenMod, thank you for that.

Jesper.
__________________
/// got to catch up again ///
 

Closed Thread


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2