F1, F2, F3 listening impression

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been toying with F1, F2, F3 since about ten months (soon an elephant pregnency timing) in order to find out what best suits what. The setup : a 4 ways fostex horns driven system with a kliphshorn for the bass. A digital xover filter because it allows to set the phase and the delay compensation. Each Fs is therefore driving one driver.

Some smallish issues

F3 has 100uV noise which you can clearly hear with over 100db drivers. An LPAD helped to reduce the noise, thank you Mr Pass for the spec.

F1 has a slight thump up at turn on (80mV) which i don't like when driving tweeter, but anyway...
all have - I find - a small mecanical noise that relates to the of AC supply transformers (might change them in the future)

One F3 had an input badly screwed which did some miss contact (not a problem),

Listening rationale (oups somehow not logic here). Music is a matter of taste, of the type of music and the setup (devices and room), so my comments are nothing objective. I only tried to determine which amps would be best suited for which driver i.e frequency according to my tastes. So I swapped the Fs between the four drivers and listened and listened and and and....