Designing Passive preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Due to the release of a transformer based passive preamp, some people in my local community are interested in passive preamp. A few of them seems to interested in my set up too:

Aleph L + Aleph 3 + Thiels 1.5

Since Aleph L is no longer in production, they cannot buy it now.
They urge me to tell them the design and specification of the combo.
So that they can diy it.

Specifically, I would like to seek help in the following:

1. Since impedance varies with volume in passive pre (right? I am not an expert.), what's the impact on sound? How can we alleviate its effect? Does the resistance value of attenuator important?

2. How can we match the input impedance and output impedance of a preamp [Aleph L: input imp=20Kohm, output imp.=250ohm]?

3. How can we choose the input impedance of the power amp?
Specifically, what value of input cap. is good for a power amp using with a passive preamp? [it seems that Aleph 3 is Direct coupple. Does it mean no input cap.?]

4. I have been puzzled for a decade why Papa designed a passive preamp for Aleph 3 whose gain is only 20dB? [Is cost only the concern here?] Will it compromise the dynamics?

Thanks Papa, I love this combo very much. Passive pre, Single end, Class A & non-NF design help me enjoy the beauty of pure music.

Assuming that B&W_arthur is asking something about the Aleph preamp, as opposed to a "normal" passive preamp, I'm assuming that he anticipates needing gain at least some of the time. Since there's no way to get gain out of a passive preamp (unless you want to get into transformers--something that is alien to the Aleph series), we're led to the idea that B&W_arthur wants an active preamp.