Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd January 2007, 03:43 PM   #1
pjpoes is offline pjpoes  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to pjpoes
Default 1000uf at 400v, need suggestions

I'm currently working on replacing some parts inside my Ming Da tube amp. It has 10-1000uf at 400v electrolytics from Rubycon. These may be perfectly fine quality, I know that Rubycon makes some good capacitors, but I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions. For one thing, given that its a chinese product, I question if they are real, but they do appear to be. I have little experience with Solens, but the Solen capacitors in it were among the worst quality film caps I have ever seen, the out tape was peeling off of all of them, and overall construction quality seemed poor.

If anyone knows of some good capacitors to use in that place, let me know. If those are probably fine, would bypassing the diode bridge with some film caps be a good idea to further reduce noise.

Also the unit has some small value high voltage caps, and I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts. For instance I have 4-47uf at 400volt caps from a company called Nova(?). Also some 120uf at 400volts from Rubycon, and some inexpensive Elna's. Whats a good source for these high voltage caps? Thanks.
Old 23rd January 2007, 04:20 PM   #2
Pars is offline Pars  United States
diyAudio Member

Digikey... Panasonic TSHA or other variants (TSHB, etc.)
Old 24th January 2007, 03:03 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Cornell-Dubillier makes some nice caps. The ones I have are very solidly built and made in the US.
Old 24th January 2007, 01:49 PM   #4
diyAudio Member