schematic questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th December 2002, 05:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Magnetmaz
Default schematic questions

i have some questions about this schematic....

can you please tell me what the components labeled #1, 2 and 3 are ?

I'm an electronics newbie.

Also, what is the component located just to the right of the power input plug? It looks like a Cap in a box.

Thanks for all your help

-maz
Attached Images
File Type: jpg univibe2.jpg (50.2 KB, 393 views)
Old 18th December 2002, 06:03 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default question

This is an intriguing schematic!

#1 is the input RCA, that one's easy.

#3 is a neon stabiliser; think of it as the tube version of a zener diode, except that it's threshold voltage collapses if it ignites..

#2 is a set of 4 LDRs (light dependent resistors) in a light-tight enclosure with a lamp. (The CdS means Cadmium Sulphite Cell, a LDR type). The lamp current determines the light level and therefore the resistance of the LDRs. That in turm controls the volume level in the four amp stages. The schematic part with the neon is an oscillator, that flashes the light and generates a vibrato effect. Look to the right: there is a selection switch selecting either vibrato (the controlled chain) or chorus.

The component to the left of the plug is an auxiliary mains socket for an extra piece of gear.

Seems this is a guitar amp or effect unit or something?

Jan Didden
Old 18th December 2002, 06:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

wow! very impressive, janneman!

It IS in fact a guitar / instrument effect pedal. This one simulates the rotary speaker sound of a Leslie Speaker. It is a pretty ancient schematic, i think....