Modding the DEQ2496 - bit of help?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am trying to mod my DEQ2496. I am going to build some circuits for separately regulated 5V lines. ..at least I will do when the other components arrive tomorrow. If I use S&B transformers for the input and outputs then 5V is all I need I believe.

So, presuming I get the power-supply up and running, I need to connect that to the DEQ board! This is where I become a bit stuck.

I am very new to electronics so it is very hard for me to trace the circuit. I plan on having a separate regulated line for DAC, ADC, clock and input receiver (AK4114?) then running the display/controls and the DSP from another power supply to separate out the dirty stuff.

What I am not sure of is where to physically connect the power lines to!

I am thinking of connecting directly to the DAC, ADC and input receiver chips for the clean supply (not sure about the clock, is it a single component that needs power?) and cutting the supply from the board, but how can I run all the other bits off the dirty supply? Would it be possible to pull out one of the standard regulators and just put in the regulated 5V line in its place? If so, where should the line go?

Thanks for any help! Please remember I am new to all this so very clear instructions please ;)

To follow up on my last message, can someone point on here where to 'hack in' the new 5V line, please?
attachment.php

Thanks

Okay scrap all that lol!! (sorry)

I just had a look at the SHARK processor datasheet and it says it needs 3.3V so I can't run completely off 5V.

Thus my new plan...

The DEQ has the following voltages from the PSU before the regulators on the DEQ board.

1 Red = +15V
2 = -15V
3 = 9V
4 = analogue ground
5 = digital ground
6 = 5V
7 = 3V

Now as I said before I am having a completely separate PSU for the clean components and the dirty ones.