increasing current(amps) by splicing wires - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th February 2006, 08:53 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default increasing current(amps) by splicing wires

hello, everyone. this is my first time posting, so i'm sorry if i sound like an idiot (which isn't far from the truth).

i was wondering if it is possible to take a computer power supply and somehow splice the wires on it to increase the the current (amperage). i have a PhoenixGold XS4300 amp from my car and would like to use it as my home audio amp, so i need to simulate a car battery, and ignition wire. the problem is that the amp draws 35 amps of continuous current draw at full power, and peak current draw of 50 amps. most power supplys that i could find on the net seemed to top out at around 20amps on the 12V wire. i appreciate any help on the matter. thanks.

oh yeah, on the site(or a site i can't remember) someone had suggested using a car batter charger to do the job. however, that will probably be more expensive though, and i'll still need to think of something to use to hook up the the amps remote/on wire on the amp, or it won't turn on.

-ivan
Old 6th February 2006, 01:15 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I am not sure about the computer power supply route...as they may not be able to put out enough current fast enough
(I don't know much about computers)

most car amps need a good bit of power to perform there best.

when I bench test amps I use a large 12v DC power supply
(you can find some beefy power supplies on ebay at a fair price)

car battery chargers will power it but in most amps you will get ton of hum,and it is very hard on the charger.