Need help with simple project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hiya,
I'm hoping one of you guys can give me a hand with a project im working on. after browsing the forums it seems like it should be pretty easy for you. Ive made some regular electronic projects but im pretty new to audio electronics.

Basicaly i have a problem where i have lot of audio outputs from various sources such as DVD player, VHS player, TV, PS2, Laptop, Desktop, Stereo. and have a good few inputs such as Surround sound, Headset, Wireless headphones, TV etc etc. At the moment i am constantly crawling under and behind my desk when i want to change what im hearing and how.

So, I have come up with the idea of having an audio junction box, where i have a plastic enclosure box, on one side i have a row of inputs phono and 3.5mm jack, and on the other side I have a row of 3.5mm outputs, all of which has its own switch so i can turn in/outputs on and off.

Here is a picture of the basic layout, but im not sure of what it will do to the sound quality and if i need some sort of op amp or what.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Just connect your inputs to a rotary switch and your outputs to one as well.

2 pole 6 position break before make like these will do the job.

http://www.altronics.com.au/index.asp?area=item&id=S3022

Inputs to the outside connectors (input sw) > out from the inside 2 connectors (input sw) > inside 2 connectors (output sw) > outside connectors (output sw)

Better than having individual switches that you can forget to turn off and have 4 sources playing at once.

Keep your left channel to 1 pole and right channel to the other pole. You've got the idea but make sure you don't join the RCA inputs as you have shown.... treat it the same as the 3.5mm jacks.