First Audio PCB Designed -- Comments?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, All!

I'm a noob to designing audio PCB layouts, and would enjoy hearing some feedback on this bridging adaptor.

The circuit is from Rod Elliot's web site: http://sound.westhost.com/project14.htm

I intend for this board to eventually go in front of an LM3886 chip-amp on the odd occasion when I need loud mono sound (stage monitor duty). So noise and such isn't a huge concern (everything else in the chain is already noisy.. argh), but I'd like to eliminate as much as possible at the design stage.

It will be built on 2lbs copper SS fibreglass board with no through-hole plating.

Design "principles":

I tend to use thick traces and pads because I have a hard time etching the small stuff accurately (0.02" is about my limit) and the trace edges sometimes come out a little porous. I tend to leave a big gap between the edge of the board and the circuit because cutting fibreglass with a dremel tool is not the easiest thing to do accurately. I guess I need to buy a better laserprinter and a bandsaw... Anyhow. :)

Additional principles not rooted in manufacturing technology: I've noticed that most audio and RF boards I've seen leave a huge ground plane, run signals parallel to grounds, don't do sharp bends, and keep the signal paths as short as possible. I honestly don't fully understand why all of that is (they never really covered AC in highschool electronics, YEESH), so for the better part, I'm just mimicking other designers.

Input is at the bottom, output is on the right. TL072 op-amp, half running NI the other half running inverted. Input will be from a panel-mounted RCA jack, output will probably also be RCA jacks, with external patch cables to the chip amp inputs -- I don't want to run my chip amp inputs through a switch when I'm not using the bridge.