Soldering to Cardas female RCA connector - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd July 2005, 07:56 PM   #1
41 is offline 41  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Soldering to Cardas female RCA connector

I'm very new to the DIY audio scene, but I'm trying to finish the infamous non-inverting Gainclone amplifier and I'm having trouble soldering to the RCA connectors. They are Cardas nickel-plated copper parts. I'm not sure about the part numbers.

The signal conductor has a nice solder cup but I can't seem to find an appropriate soldering location for the ground shield. How am I supposed to accomplish this?
Old 24th July 2005, 02:21 AM   #2
ctardi is offline ctardi  Canada
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to ctardi Send a message via Yahoo to ctardi
Find a spot where it won't short and solder it there. Sometimes it is helpful to have a friend with a pair of plyers holding things in place.
Old 24th July 2005, 03:36 AM   #3
cowanrg is offline cowanrg  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to cowanrg
if its the one im thinking of, i do a little trick (i have no friends). i strip an excess of wire, wrap it around the groove, solder a place of the wire, and cut the excess off. no tricky plier-weilding needed and you dont need a third hand. they look like this:

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 25th July 2005, 02:33 AM   #4
41 is offline 41  United States
diyAudio Member

Hmm, that's the right connector. Where do you solder to? The inside of the groove? I'm also having a bit of trouble getting the soldered wire to bond to the conducting surface.

Thanks for the help guys.
Old 25th July 2005, 03:46 AM   #5
cowanrg is offline cowanrg  United States
diyAudio Member