Basic Electronics Question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th March 2005, 05:38 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Basic Electronics Question

I'm a newbie trying to learn, so go easy on me.

I'm having a difficult time reconciling in my mind why current in a simple DC-series circuit with two resistors of differing values is not determined solely by the highest Ohm-value resistor. For example, if a simple DC circuit has a battery of 100V and a resistor of 20 Ohms, the current is 5.0A. If you then insert a 10 Ohm resistor in series (which by itself would yield a current of 10.0A) the current drops to 3.3A. It seems like, if I imagine the charge carriers being passed along the chain, that once they get through the 20 Ohm resistor that they should be able to maintain that "speed" because the charge carriers would be coming out of the 20 Ohm resistor at a slower rate then they would be going into the 10 Ohm resistor. So, the 10 Ohm resistor would always be waiting for the next charge carrier and would not bring the speed down any lower. The classic water and pipes analogy doesn't help as it would seem to reach the same conclusion.

I know I'm missing something obvious here.

Thanks for helping.
Old 25th March 2005, 06:36 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The circuit you describe contains only a single resistor, 30 ohms.
Old 25th March 2005, 07:14 PM   #3
Stocker is offline Stocker  United States
diyAudio Member

That is to say, resistance in series is additive. The difference at each resistor will be the voltage across them, not the current through them.
Old 25th March 2005, 08:11 PM   #4
diyAudio Member