Power Sequencer with PIC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I plan to use the following circuit to power-up my Hi-Fi sytem. Can anybody please suggest any improvements/corrections to the circuit and software. Please take into account that I've just learned PIC's and Basic (self taught) - so the software are not optimised or the best way, but it does the job - so far. ;)

The idee is that when I switch on the sequencer, my equipment will power-up, in sequence: CD, Pre-amp, Monoblock-1, Monoblock-2, Sub-amp and when I switch off sequencer, power down in reverse order with delays. Monoblock's are valve amps. I also want to use manual switches for switching anything on/off individually. To do this, I will 1st switch the auto/man. switch on the 12v line.

NEITHER THE CIRCUIT NOR THE SOFTWARE ARE TESTED IN REAL LIFE !!

Attachments

• pseq.gif
    pseq.gif
    63.6 KB · Views: 528
Instead of using the manual switches to switch power to the relays, hook them up to the micro. Also hook up the auto/man switch to the micro. Then, do all the switching in software. Your software would look something like this:
Code:
'auto_man is the auto/manual control switch
main:
if auto_man = 1 goto auto
if auto_man = 0 goto manual
auto:
all the sequencing stuff
manual:
if sw1 = 1 then
cd = 1
pause 3000
else cd = 0
endif
if sw2 = 1 then
something else = 1
pause some more
else something else
endif
and so on...
You can also insert delays into the manual portion (like I did), so if you turn on all the switches at once, it will still turn your equipment on in sequence.

The compiler will not let you use stop as a label. Stop is already reserved as a command to stop the program execution. I'm not sure about start though.

You don't even need this:
Code:
If psu_on = 0 Then Goto start
If psu_on = 1 Then Goto stop