Pace Soldering Station

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I might be able to buy a Pace MBT250 soldering station, but it would cost me quite a lot, about $500 I'm guessing. Still, that's a lot less than the price you'd pay for it in a store. What can I say, that soldering station looks like one of the best there is (and I'm sure it is), it looks like something fantastic. I read a lot of reactions here on the forums and a lot of people seem to find a temperature controlled iron invaluable. I'm also starting with SMD stuff so this would be a great help in soldering those tiny parts, since it's got a vacuum pump and an air supply connection.

However, if I'd buy it for such a high price (compared to my current soldering iron, which is a very simple non-temperature regulated Weller model), I'd like to be sure that this will last for at least 20 years. I'm a student and I can't afford to spend amounts like this all the time. I'm going to start studying electronics at university next month and while I know that I won't have to do a lot of soldering for school, I can be sure that somewhere in the future this thing will have it's use (next to using it for my hobby).

So, now, the question (finally ;)): how long will this thing last? How long would a tip last if I, let's say, solder for 6 hours a week (which probably won't even be the case)? I guess years, but I'd like to be sure.

Do you guys think this is a good investment to make or should I pass it on? The soldering station is used, but in very good condition, some of the (de)soldering irons that you get when you buy it new aren't even used. It also comes with quite a lot of tips, both used & unused. I guess it would cost about $2000-3000 new (how's that for an acurate guess ;)). So, is this a good deal?