noisy opamps - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th August 2004, 09:30 PM   #1
p53 is offline p53  Germany
diyAudio Member

Default noisy opamps

Hi there,

could somebody please help me with following stuff?

Ive got a so called SPL Vitalizer (one of the first models from the 90s). Its a nice thing but quite a little bit noisy. The opamps used there are all on sockets, so I could easily exchange them. My problem is that Im a bloody beginner and I dont know which opamps I could try instead. The opamps are:

TL071CN, TL072CN, TL074CN and LM13700N

Thank you in advance,

Rudolph
Old 19th August 2004, 10:12 PM   #2
rgsotr1 is offline rgsotr1  Germany
diyAudio Member

The replacement for the TL072 is simple, use LM833, its low noise and low distortion at similair speed. May be someone else has a good tip for the others.
Old 20th August 2004, 01:51 AM   #3
sam9 is offline sam9  United States
diyAudio Member

TL071, TL072, and TL074 are single, dual and quad versions of the same opamp. They are pretty low-noise to begin with but there are ones with better specs. A common upgrade for audio is the OPA134, OPA2134, OPA4134 single dual quad family. Also the OPA132, OPA2132, OPS4132 family. (I'm not sure on the relative merits.) These are not all that expensive. I would guess that using all from the same family to attempt an experimental upgrade of the TL07x family would be the most conservative approach.