Printed Circuit Boards for DIY Audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a professional amplifier designer for a well known southern California pro audio manufacturer. In order to help out the DIY community with their projects, I was thinking I could apply some of my board layout expertise.

If there was a circuit the diy community could agree was not comercially available but a worthy project to build, and if say 50 to 100 people wold commit to ordering a board, I would do the artwork, put it on the site for approval by the community and then get the number people commited to buy made at my supplier in Taiwan for distribution to those who wanted it at my out of pocket cost.

A board could be for a power amp, a DSP, whatever. I can do 2 or 4 layer boards. Plated through holes, whatever.

What I need first is a discussion on what would be the most desired board to get made, and no rip offs of commercial designs either. I need a schematic done well enough to be able to generate a parts list, one which at least 50 people would want.

If the project works out well, there could be more.

Nice offering :)

I did it for the mox active filter boards.

I found it Hard for people to agree, so I suggest team up with a few guys and come up with a design and layout, and make the group purchase arrangements.

Just speaking from experience – thanks for the help Tyler :)

\Jens

:) Yes, I think with any open ended design request, there is a problem that different people will pull the design in different directions, and everyone will have a good idea on how to improve the design. Except, if you "improve" it too much (too many bells and whistles) no one will actually want to pay for it. (The fallacy of focus groups?)