Tektronix 2235 Oscilloscope woes - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th July 2004, 05:06 PM   #1
dstaley is offline dstaley  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Tektronix 2235 Oscilloscope woes

Hello,
I recently purchased a Tektronix 2235 O'scope but am having some trouble with it. The trace is bright but I can not get it to properly focus. I have no experience in troubleshooting oscilloscopes and I don't have another to try to tackle this kind of project, so I'm looking for some kind of affordable repair service for it.

I have tried the test trace and the scope seems to work except that the trace is so blurred. The square waveform is obvious but not precise. The time scale and both voltage controls seem to work normally.

Is anyone out there able to do this kind of thing, or (cringing) familiar enough with these to know what the problem might be? Is it even worth repairing?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Douglas Staley
Old 14th October 2004, 09:39 AM   #2
tekman is offline tekman  Germany
diyAudio Member

No need to be dicouraged

The problem is well known - if you have a service manual, look for the resistors in the focus pot. divider chain.

If you have no manual: Opern the scope, no power applied. Turn the focus pot and note where it is on the mainboard. Nearby this pot are a lot (approx 9) 510 k Ohm resistors. Get replacement: 510k 1/2 watt carbon 5% or metal film 1%. Unsolder the original resistors, check with ohmmeter. Change all the 510 k resistor, also the non-faulty ones

For curiosity: most time only a couple of these have failed.

Let us know if this gets your scope back to work
Old 14th October 2004, 12:12 PM   #3
pukka is offline pukka  Spain
diyAudio Member